Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is without question some of the best pizza I've ever eaten!! And it was cool to say that I made that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judipcook
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I've never been 100% satisfied with homemade pizza—until I found this recipe. I followed the instructions exactly, and the result was PIZZA PERFECTION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We have been making pizza from scratch (dough and all) for about a year now. This is by far the best pizza of all. The only change was, we made our own crust and precooked our crust lik others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
The best deep-dish pizza we've had, especially since we can make it ourselves. My husband really liked it since it didn't have the usual tomato sauce on the crust. Awesome the next day too. Followed one of the chef's recommendations to re-heat in a skillet with a little loose foil on top. Delicious pizza! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I discovered this easy way to make our pizza last year. My family likes it rolled to fit large stone that has been, Sprinkled with dry cornmeal. I brush the olive oil on edges of dough & also pre-bake. Not the 15 minutes more like 10, since dough is thinner. Try tomato sauce instead of diced & fresh garlic, for a change. Suggested toppings onion, green pepper, diced ham & pineapple. I usually make half just like recipe & half w/the ham mixture. Thanks for putting on line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I do like the recipe's ingredients very much; however, using frozen bread dough as the crust & not having any tomato sauce (such as homemade from Roma tomatoes, or a good jar sauce) on top of the crust before adding the other terrific ingredients leads me to think this will not taste like a Chicago-style pizza that I love. It will be a very good pizza, of that I have no doubt; I love the fennel seed---very Italian addition, very tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I followed the suggestions, I used the 14" pizza pan with the holes on the bottom, let the cheese air dry for 6 hours in frig., and added more toppings, green pepper& pepperoni and didn't use the fennel seed, but 1/2 teas. Italian seasoning. This tastes so GREAT and much cheaper than our local pizza place charging us 27.50 for one than is not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is really really good except you need to bake the crust for about 10-15 minutes before putting on the toppings. We always add more toppings since we like the "loaded" type and it takes a few more minutes to bake but oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is pretty good, but it doesn't resemble Chicago deep dish pizza in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
While this is tasty, a true Chicago-style pizza has a crispier outside, and an airier inside. There is usually a small amount of cornmeal mixed in as well. Again, this is tasty but not a true Chicago-style crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States