Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
One ingredient that distinguishes Chicago Deep Dish Pizza is the cornmeal in the crust and slices of mozzarella cheese. This is bread dough topped with pizza ingredients. It is in no way even close to Chicago style pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I think this would be better with pizza sauce. Was good the first time around but tasted better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
fantasic awesome flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Followed other reviews advice. Pre-cook crust for 15 minutes. Drain tomatoes, add spices and let it sit for about one hour. Dust deep dish pan with corn meal. This is by far the best pizza I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was a really easy recipe. It turned out delious! Just like a restuarant. My husband said that it was the best homemade pizza he ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam gile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
A great meal...filling and flavorful! I used Pillsbury canned pizza dough (which worked perfectly), made this exactly as the recipe was written and would not change a thing. Like the other reviews suggest, make sure you pre-bake the crust and thoroughly drain the tomatoes. What's great is you can basically add/change the toppings as much as you want as long as you keep the spices, cheese, and diced tomatoes...and it will always taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLB811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This recipe is for bread lovers! I had to use canned french bread dough. Worked out just fine. Makes a huge pizza! My family of 3 ate less than half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Excellent!! I skipped the sausage as a personal preference. I used canned mushrooms & chopped up some pepperoni & green peppers & added it all in w/the tomato mixture. Layered cheese, tomato mix, & topped w/more cheese. Love, love, love this!! I've made it twice in 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
LOVED it! Made it exactly as written. Next time I will do something different with the crust. Seems to me real Chicago crust is kind of cornbready?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Pretty good and very easy to prepare. Everyone in my family liked it (can I hear a woot woot). Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States