Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Not sure which I like least- using bread dough for pizza, using frozen bread dough, or trying to press a one pound "loaf" of dough into a pan. Or maybe it's using a pound of Italian sausage on a pizza, AND adding fennel. Then again, I spend little time in Chicago, maybe that's what they do there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Loved this recipe as is. Next time I will try pre-cooking the crust a little, but I didn't and my family gobbled it up as is. This will be a recipe that I will make often. Loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Deep Dish does not mean thick crust....Chicago deep dish is made like an apple pie crust filled with cheese, sauce, and your favorite toppings....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. However, I too, use 1/2 the diced tomates, and add chopped gr. pepper along with the onion. I would not make any other changes, but I have a suggestion. Instead of the Ital. Sausage, try finely sliced Ital. beef. Sounds strange, but tastes great. One of the local pizza places in Chicago offered this special every Friday, and people lined up to order. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
easy and delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I thought it was delicious. I thawed the bread dough in the morning, and I wasn't sure how much to let it rise before I shaped it and stuck it in the oven. It rose quite a bit, which I think was good in the end. My kids didn't like it as much as me. I also left off the mushrooms because my mushrooms were bad, and added green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Jones Frandsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This pizza was amazing!!! I made the dough from scratch and pre-baked it for 10 minutes before adding the toppings. I will definitely be making this pizza again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. The pizza was a hit with the family. I considered the recipe worthy to serve to my chef son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I grew up in Gary, Indiana and I know about Chicago, Pizza. My two favorit Chi-Town foods are Vienna Beef hot dogs and Deep Dish Pizza. This recipe rockssssssss. Trust me. The dough was a little hard to work, plus I was scared of over working it. But I did a pretty good job of getting it into a round deep dish cake pan. Baked it for 15 minutes took it out and re worked it around the edges. I strained the tomatoes pretty good, used cornmeal and this came out awesome. Thank you, thank you to the original writer of this recipe and the many others that added constructive input. If you messed this up I suggest you stick with Degornos or Tony's frozen pizza. Or better yet peanut buutter and jelly because this was too easy... This bachelor now how a Ace in the hole for "first date night"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States