Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yum! Absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I wouldn't change a single thing. Other than dusting my greased baking dish w/ cornmeal (I always do this when making pizza), sauteing my onion / sasusage 2gether (oops!), omitting the mushrooms called for (my hubby & I hate them) & mistakenly purchasing frozen pizza dough instead of bread dough, I followed Jamie's directions to a T. Oh, and b/c I only had Hunt's balsamic, EVOO & basil flavored tomatoes on hand, I subbed those for plain ones. I have 2 tips to share. First, pre-bake your crust for 15 min. or so, top w/ the fixins' & pop back in the oven for another 20 min. (my pizza took 35 min. to cook thru / crisp up). Second, drain your tomatoes as best you can, but don't worry if some liquid remains. If you layer your ingredients in the order instructed, your tomatoes will end up on top & the very little juice left will not cause your crust to be soggy at all. Those experiencing a "soggy" crust must not have pre-baked it or didn't follow the recipe submitters layering directions. I really think using stoneware made all the difference, so if you own a stoneware dish, I suggest using it. One last thought.... You MUST add the Parmesan cheese (I used grated). It REALLY, REALLY sets this pizza apart from all others! Thanks SO much for sharing, JAIME5025. This isn't the "real" thing, but it sure gives the Chicago deep-dish chains a run for their money! This will definitely be added to my "keeper" file! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
One word. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tburton1219
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was a great recipe! Very easy to make and you can customize it to your liking. I did use pillsbury refrigerated pizza crust and cooked it in a cast iron skillet. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tburton1219

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I wasn't able to find frozen bread dough at our store so I bought a bag of refrigerated pizza dough. I had many tomatoes from our neighbors garden I needed to use up so I diced those instead of using canned. I used fresh garlic cloves and minced them. I sauted the garlic, onion, 1/2 green bell pepper, fresh sliced mushrooms in olive oil with salt, pepper, oregano and fennel. I drained all the liquid from the vegies. I did bake the the crust for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. I topped it with mozzerella cheese, tomato mixture, and lastly with grated fresh parmesan cheese. I did brush the crust with olive oil and baked for 30 minutes in a cast iron skillet. The crust rose beautifully, the dough was completely cooked/not soggy, the color of the crust was a lovely golden brown, and the texture was crispy. I made a second "kid version" pizza with jar sauce, mozzerella cheese, pepperoni, sausage, and parmesan cheese. They loved theirs as well. The prep work time was long but worth it in the end! Everyone raved over it and only have 3 pieces left over from both pizzas. Enjoy, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
One ingredient that distinguishes Chicago Deep Dish Pizza is the cornmeal in the crust and slices of mozzarella cheese. This is bread dough topped with pizza ingredients. It is in no way even close to Chicago style pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I think this would be better with pizza sauce. Was good the first time around but tasted better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
fantasic awesome flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Followed other reviews advice. Pre-cook crust for 15 minutes. Drain tomatoes, add spices and let it sit for about one hour. Dust deep dish pan with corn meal. This is by far the best pizza I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was a really easy recipe. It turned out delious! Just like a restuarant. My husband said that it was the best homemade pizza he ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam gile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
A great meal...filling and flavorful! I used Pillsbury canned pizza dough (which worked perfectly), made this exactly as the recipe was written and would not change a thing. Like the other reviews suggest, make sure you pre-bake the crust and thoroughly drain the tomatoes. What's great is you can basically add/change the toppings as much as you want as long as you keep the spices, cheese, and diced tomatoes...and it will always taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLB811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States