Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
this is a very good recipe. like others, I halved the tomatoes, but unlike others, I wished I had added the whole amount. I throughly drained and squeezed the moisture out of the canned tomatos and it turned out a little drier than I wanted. I would still add the whole amount of tomatos and not squeeze out so much of the moisture next time. I would also cut the sausage just a little, maybe even 1/2 pound. the pie was extremely dense and rich the way I did it. not a bad thing, but a little more moisture would have been nice. I cooked this in a greased, floured cast iron skillet and it came out great. make sure you pre-cook the crust before putting the toppings in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Excellent pizza! I read the reviews and precooked the crust for 15 minutes and used a bit of olive oil to form the crust. Also, I used my springform pan and built the crust up on the sides and added all the layers and drained the tomatoes well. All I had to do was undo the pan and remove the sides and it was very easy to slice and eat. Very yummy!! My husband made the comment that he would eat this any day over Giordanno's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I make this often. One tip is, if you can use actual pizza dough, obviously it will be better. Trader Joe's makes a nice ready made pizza dough. For better crust, prepare the dough in the pan and prebake for 10 minutes or so before putting the sausage and toppings on it. Definately don't skimp on the cheese and make sure you have drained the tomatoes well to avoind soggy crust. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
As is, this recipe is only 2 stars because if you follow the directions, you get an incredibly soggy pizza with uncooked crust. If you read the reviews about precooking the crust and draining the tomatoes, I could see it bumping up to a 4. I will try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wow! I made this for my family last night and everyone loved it. To save time I used 2 Pillsbury pizza doughs and pressed them in a floured 9x13 pan. An excellent suggestion I followed, was to prebake the crust before adding the toppings. The crust did rise some while baking, so I just pressed the toppings down into the crust when it was time to add them. This helped keep the shape of the crust in the pan. So delicious, I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micheleci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Well, my experience with this dish was just so-so. It was kinda basic and the tomato "sauce" was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is a fine recipe, but it's not Chicago style at all. First, the crust on a true Chicago pizza is not bread dough--it's a rich, buttery dough that gets nice & crisp on the bottom and edges. Second, the mozzarella goes directly on the crust. Third, the sausage is not crumbled or pre-cooked--it's formed on top of the cheese is one big, thin patty. Sorry, but we Chicagoans are rather particular about our pizza!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very good. Will definitely make again but will use a pizza dough. Yes, I did make changes only because of personal preference, used only 1/2 pound sausage, added pepperoni to make up the difference. The sauce was outstanding, did not add the fennel seed because I don't care for it and didn't have it (enough in the sausage). I cooked the liquid out of the tomatoes instead of draining them. Prebaked crust in a cornmeal coated cast iron pan as suggested. So yummy and filling! My husband works nights and he is going to love coming home to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Loved this recipe, I followed the directions almost fully (which I never do) I did however subsitute fresh garlic for the powder. As good as pizza we have gotten in Chicago!!! I also cooked crust ahead for 15 minutes and then pizza for 20 like other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corky4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is a very bad, bad recipe that only a glutton would appreciate. Only one star for you Jamie because this rating system requires at least one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States