Chicago Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I've made this recipe at least 5 times and it is pretty good. A good balance of all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was a great hit at the Super Bowl party. Even my neighbor who swears he abhors spinach in anything ate it up. I did add a dash more pepper and a pinch of chili powder to give it a bit more zing, after the fact, but even as directed exactly it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustoffmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Nice starter recipe. I would have given it 5 stars but I made a few changes: since it came out a little bland I minced in a couple of cloves of garlic and a dash of hot sauce for zip, and to counter the lack of texture I chopped up half a can of water chestnuts to add crunch here and there. It went over great at my holiday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
All this was eaten, but it isn't quite as good as the recipes that call for Vegetable Soup Mix and water chestnuts. After making as stated, I ended up adding cayenne, garlic powder, onion powder and other spices to enhance the flavor. The end result was good, but not the best. Still, I think this is a solid recipe if you don't like more highly-flavored foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I've made this twice, with rye bread and with pumpernickel bread (couldn't find round Italian bread). Very good! I was worried it would be too mayonnaisey, but it's great as is. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I was so happy to find this recipe..finally a spinach dip that does NOT use veg or other soup mix!! Flavours were awesome! I did use 1/2 brick of cream cheese and only 1/2 cup of mayo (all other ingredients the same), and added some "pizza seasoning" and a dash of garlic powder. Turned out awesome. I don't care for the "soup mix" spinach dips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Thanks for a good spinach dip that doesn't use a soup mix. I made a few additions to give it a little more tang - 2 cloves of garlic and a teaspoon of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
There's a great bakery near my apt. that makes dozens of different kinds of bread bowls, and I can't wait to pour this dip into all of them! I like that this recipe doesn't have cream cheese. I didn't include the onions the second time and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My coworkers loved this dip, however I thought the taste was a bit off, I don't know why. I used a round sourdough loaf since that's all the store had, and everyone thought I brought this in from Panera Bread. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Delicious! I love this recipe. Make sure you completely thaw the spinach (and I don't suggest in the microwave - it didn't taste quite the same) and then drain the spinach. I've tried to cheat this recipe a couple times - making it quickly - and it turns out too watery and the spinach seems extra soggy. I will sometimes add some more green onions right before serving it so that it has an extra crunch in the dip. I've never used the bread bowl, but instead use tortilla chips or bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States