Chicago Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I made this for a carry-in at work. There was nothing left but the bowl, everyone loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Dip was OK, but similar dip on back of Knorr Vegetable Soup Mix is far superior. Proportion of sour cream to mayo in that recipe is 2 to 1, so it does not have an overwhelming mayo taste. The secret to keeping dip from being runny is to squeeze as much water out of the spinach as possible. I use paper towels for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I made this dip for a Memorial Day party. My guests loved it. They literally scraped the bread bowl clean. I used a round sourdough loaf and twice the amount of lemon juice. It was REALLY good and REALLY easy to make! Many people have mentioned a strong mayo taste - I think the lemon juice is the key to balancing the mayo flavor - do not omit the lemon and be sure to use a fresh lemon not the bottled stuff! I also made the dip the night before the party so the flavors could mingle! Oh man, is this stuff good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This recipe is really yummy! I am only giving it 4 stars, however, because I had to make some modifications to the original recipe in order to make it so yummy. I am not a huge fan of mayo so I reduced the amount of it by half and added 4 oz of whipped cream cheese. With the addition of the cream cheese I found that the texture of the dip was extra creamy. I also added garlic salt. Thanks for the suggestion of letting it sit over night. It tasted much better after sitting for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I added a jar of chopped artichoke hearts--very tasty! The recipe did taste rather strongly of mayo though as some have mentioned. Next time I'll add maybe 1 1/4 c. sour cream and only 3/4 c. mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEIRDRE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This dip seemed rather bland when I made it however there is a good chance it was a user error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APPASSIONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This dip was really good although it was a bit runny when I first finished making it so I just added some more spinach and it finally got to the right consistency. It was ready in minutes and eaten in minutes. Delicious, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTSNUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This was pretty good, a little drippy though. Maybe I didn't make it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Very good. Much better than packaged. Worth the few extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
The only thing I did differently was i also added some salt- but everyone loved it- even the boss's son!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States