Chiarello's Chicken and Pastina Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Excellent. Just that simple. I used fresh tomatoes (skinned and seeded) and homemade chicken broth made from a rotisserie chicken carcass. Along with the celery, onion and carrots I added the ribs, sliced, from the Swiss chard. Wish there were leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This made a good soup which had a nice sweetness to it. -Used more greens and did not measure a thing Just put it in a pot and add he greens at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Gallo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
A perfect soup for any time of year! I picked up some chard at the farmers market and wanted to find a healthy dish to make with it. I came across this recipe and loved it for a nice light summer dinner! I didn't measure; just chopped and cooked. Following the great tip from Naples, I added the diced chard stems with the mirepoix...no need to be wasteful! I didn't add the full 2# of chicken, because I didn't want to :) and I subbed a 15oz can of diced tomatoes for the crushed, as it's what I had on hand and wouldn't want to open a can for just a cup anyways. I used farfalle because I didn't want to buy pasta just for this. A lovely recipe that has great flavor! I served with fresh fruit and a garlic-herb bread. Happy, satisfied bellies! (Until my boyfriend jokingly asks "what's for dinner?" when he's hungry again in an hour or so.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Loved the flavors in this soup. I did add chicken base to this recipe to up the flavor. I also boiled my pasta separately and added it at the end so that it wouldn't soak up all my soup liquid while it cooked. The whole family really enjoyed this and it will be a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This soup is a regular in my home. I prepared this dish with frozen mustard green, because that's what I had on hand and it was great. If you choose a frozen green remember to drain very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kashetah Bedford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I used leftover rotissere chicken so it was even quicker and easier. Sauteed a clove of garlic with the onion, celery, and carrots, and used baby spinach as the greens. My little kids loved that I used tiny pasta stars, and they gobbled it up and asked for more! Served it with a green salad and garlic bread... delicious! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Absolutely delicious! An easy recipe that I did not change one bit. I did need to add more broth after the soup sat for awhile as the pasta sucks up alot of the broth. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Indeed, tasty! I accidentally let the soup boil too hard during the simmering stage, so it got a bit thick; I added some more water and all was well. I realized just now that I forgot to add greens! How stupid! That would've been so tasty. I bought them and everything, just never added them. Too late now, I suppose. -_-;; Even without them, a yummy soup! It makes a ton and is REALLY filling. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Lafaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This soup is delicious. Actually restaurant quality. I followed recipe closely, but used frozen chopped spinach for the greens. My family loves to eat soup so this will be a new one in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
My family (kids included) really enjoyed this one. I typically use homemade chicken stock and spinach. I also cook and keep the pasta separate, otherwise it eats up all the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States