Chia Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This is a nice, healthy recipe that I like to have for breakfast sometimes. I've used regular milk, and I've also used almond milk which turns out really tasty. Instead of sugar I use stevia, and I add about 4 tsp of cocoa powder to make it a chocolate pudding. Berries go really well on top. PS- the more chia you add per amount of liquid, the thicker the pudding is/ the more the chia gells up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
My husband is a firm believer of the "powers" of chia seeds so, I had some laying around and I tried this. To me, it needs more sugar and vanilla in it. I didn't have raisins so I added a few mini chocolate chips with the coconut. That helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Let this set overnight at most - if left longer it starts to take on a very strong grain taste and the texture goes from tapioca-like to frog egg-like. It gives some variety to the chia menu I suppose. However, if I make it again I'll make a half batch to avoid keeping it around too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This has now become a staple! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this - I usually make it chocolate, and either use coconut sugar or a few tbsp of raw honey. Both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was DELICIOUS! I made it vegan and used vanilla soy milk instead of regular - therefore omitting the vanilla mentioned in the recipe. I didn't wait the written eight hours but instead just 4 'cause I was dying to try it! Yummmmmm!!! However, I think the calorie count on this recipe is way off - should be 200 (minimum) per serving (still making 4 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I actually made this from looking at a chocolate chia pudding but didn't have any cocoa. Here's how mine is a little different. I made it just for 1 serving and used 1/2 cup original flavor almond milk, 2 T chia seeds, 1 packet domino/stevia blend sugar and a couple drops of vanilla and added a T. of golden raisins and a few pumpkin seeds. I only let it set for about 20 minutes before eating. I'll try overnite the next time. I ate this for breakfast and it was very feeling and tasted very rich. I'll have to get use to the consistency of tapioca though or blend it to see how that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hazymay
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made a vegan twist on it and used coconut milk instead of milk, mashed bananas for added nutrients, added very little brown sugar versus white, added toasted coconut flakes, added a dash of cinnamon and skipped the raisins. The best pudding I've ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazymay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I used 1 can coconut milk, 2 cups almond milk, 1/4 cup cocoa, 2 tbsp raw honey, 1 cup chia seeds, 1/2 tsp each of vanilla and almond extract. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Love It! I usually reduce the recipe down to 1 serving and make before bed for breakfast the next morning. I double the vanilla (only because I love vanilla)and use about 1 teaspoon maple syrup instead of sugar. I don't add the optional ingredients and enjoy the simple uncomplicated taste which reminds me of chilled oatmeal but with soft tiny crunchies. Sometimes I have a glob of chia seeds settle to the bottom which I have to stir well and break apart to create an even pudding-like consistency. If I use coconut milk I have better results and a much thicker pudding which too I love. Nice to have a recipe that isn't chocolate. Thanks nikkid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States