Chi Tan T'ang (Egg Drop Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This is so simple and so delicious! I made this for our family get together with "oriental" theme and everyone wanted the recipe. And the grandkids request it when they come for dinner no matter what type of dish we are having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This is a decent recipe....yeah, it is too salty, but that's to be expected, looking at the ingredient list. To make mine more interesting, I julienned 1/2 a zucchini, about 10 fresh mushrooms, and 1 stalk celery in addition to the green pepper. I also pressed 4 cloves of garlic into the soup and added a smidge more cornstarch. Mine turned out a little murky, but that was because i stirred the eggs in too vigourously. Using egg whites only will give the soup a clearer broth and more classicly restaraunt style "swirl."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
uugs! too salty! Better to go for a simple hot and sour soup if you want to have the egg drop texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Way too much salt and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Great!!! I am not even a fan of egg drop soup, but this was delicious!!! Will probably add tofu and mushrooms next time like our favorite restaurant,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Maybe we didn't make this right but this was not very good. Too salty, vinegary, can't describe it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Really good!! Made it many times. 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I used less bouillon as others suggested, I upped the vinegar to suit my taste, and I used 6 green onions instead of one to make it a bit more interesting. It was really, really yummy and my husband and I both loved it. But the sodium content! It's not that good for you. Other than that, it was excellent and I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This was the first time I've ever made this kind of soup. It was very tasty. I'd had this before in restaurants and never paid much attention to it, but I think this was a pretty good replication of "the real thing". I accidentally put a little too much vinegar in it, so it was perhaps a tad too tangy for my taste, so I'm sure if I made it properly, it'd be even better. I guess I also got lucky in that the egg-drop part turned out well, since I read in articles on other websites that this can be a hard technique to do correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This was good, but WAY too salty. I would proably use 1/2 the soy sauce and match water with cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieB!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States