Chi Tan T'ang (Egg Drop Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
If you like salt, this recipe's for you. Bouillon is loaded with it, which is why I used a good, low sodium box of chicken broth. This was just fair in taste. Didn't taste like our local Chinese restaurant so I'll have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
i tryed this and it was amazing i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delicious and easy! I made this according to the directions and it was quite good. I had to put in a bit more cornstarch to change the consistency at all though. I really like this recipe as written, but I'm going to tinker around a bit until it's just right for us. Then it will be 5 stars! We had this with the steamed barbecue pork buns and fried rice with cilantro, both recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
AMAZING!!! Tasts just like the restaurant. Had this recipie for about a year and honestly make about once a week. Just now having time to rate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This was terrible! Was this really made by a Chinese person? Keep on looking for an authentic egg drop soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
EXCELLENT! Fast and very authenic tasting! Got to have more than one bowl of this stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I thought this was really great. I used just egg whites and loved the effect. My husband does not like anything that might be chinese food, however, this will be a great simple meal when he can eat leftovers. Also think this is a great luncheon idea. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I was expecting something different-I always order egg drop soup in the restaurant and I knew this would be a variation, but it tasted awful. It looks disgusting with the soy and all you can taste is white vinegar. I will stick to going to Wong's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This soup is fantastic for any time you crave Egg Drop Soup, but don't have time to go to the store for ingredients. (We don't normally have green onion laying around the house so I don't use it every time) Yes, it is a "salty" soup, but if you like the salty soy sauce flavor, then it's perfect. I add soy sauce to my egg drop soup when I get it at Chinese restaurants all the time, but this has enough for me in the recipe. An extra chicken boullion cube or two makes this recipe divine. Cut back a bit on the vinegar if you don't like the taste, but I like it just like it is. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Very tasty soup! The only thing I would change is the number of bouillion cubes. Next time I will match the cubes to the amount of water. Other than that, it was good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States