Chi Tan T'ang (Egg Drop Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was okay.. it wasn't what I was looking for. I'm trying to find something similar to my fave local restaurant. My husband and I thought it was too salty. I only used 4 cubes, 1T reduced sodium soy sauce and 2T vinegar. My 2yr old daughter thought it was delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4you

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very simple restaurant quality. Thank you. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
After having my wisdom teeth out I was desperate for a soft soup recipe (and one I happened to have all the ingredients in house for) - this one was AWESOME! Followed the directions to the letter and have now made it 4 times since. Very simple and great taste/consistency. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
With a couple of slight modifications, this was outstanding...for four servings I used 3 cups hot water and 2 of those extra-large Knorr bouillon cubes, omitted the vinegar completely, added 1 small sliced clove of garlic (slicing the garlic doesn't render it as intensely garlic-y tasting as mincing it) added 1/4 cup canned corn with the green onion and used 2 eggs beaten with 1 egg white. Also (and I think this may have been the key here), I added a good shake of ground white pepper (this is an essential ingredient in many Asian dishes). It was thick and eggy and broth-y, rich with flavor and the added corn was superb. To go along with it I fried up some wontons (basic wonton wrappers cut in half and fried in hot oil for about 10 seconds on each side) and served with our favorite Chinese restaurant's housemade sweet & sour sauce. Try this, I don't think you'll be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Next time I think I will use less soy and less vinegar. Its not the egg drop soup that we're used to but I loved it and defintely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was looking for something good that didn't require chewing since I just had all of my bottom teeth pulled and I came across this recipe. It was very good with a few minor adjustments. I didn't have the bullion, and only had 4 C of chicken broth. I like salty so I went ahead and used the 2 TBS of soy sauce. I wasn't so sure about the vinager and all I had was balsamic, so I cut it to 1 TBS. I also added a dash of ground ginger and a splash of sesame oil. I left out the onion and went ahead and used the 3 eggs and it turned out very tasty. I cut the corn starch back to 1 1/2 TBS because I didn't have the full 6 cups of liquid, but I think next time I will use the 2 TBS. Very tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I didn't have chicken bouillon so I used canned chicken broth (I know bouillon would have been better...) and I didn't have any green onions, and to top it off I forgot the cornstarch! But it was still great to eat. My oldest daughter asked for a bowl and finished it and my youngest (16 months) would say "more mease (her version of please) after every bite I took...Next time I will make it with bouillon, and probably try adding red peppers and garlic to give it a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I initially made this as written, and found it to be very salty, a little too vinegary, and lacking in some of the flavors I expect from egg drop soup. I ended up adding more water, a few drops of sesame oil, and a tiny pinch of dried ginger. With these tweaks, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
So good! This soup was fantastic- the egg was so light it barely tastes eggey at all, like savory marshmallows. I will make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States