Chi Tan T'ang (Egg Drop Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
excellent soup. I rarely get to eat egg drop soup because I can't eat gluten, and this is fantastic and super easy. I cut the vinegar in half and used a little bit of regular onion instead of green onion and added a little black pepper. I think next time I will add some carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We didn't care for this, the soy sauce is way too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Really good! I added some sauteed mushrooms and garlic - trying to get over a sore throat. Then I just added splashes of soy sauce and vinegar, and lots of ground black pepper. Very comforting when you're feeling under the weather. I halved it and just used one extra large egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I love this! I add a little garlic powder to it too. Even better with beef broth! My husband says it better than any he's had before. I make it often! Quick, easy, and always have the ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This isn't what I was expecting at all. Way too much vinegar. I like egg drop soup that's kind of on the sweet side i guess. this was tangy. Unlike anything I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanakarlene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was good, but way to salty by the end. I would only add a few teaspoons soy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I love egg drop soup and this is better then a lot of the resturants. I only used 1 table spoon of vinegar. Some times I add tofu or other veggies. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
cut vinegar in half, still a bit strong. Eggs thready, not thick bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
OMG! Finally no more Chinese take-out. This is fantastic and tastes just like our favorite restaurant. One changes were to use 4 cups broth and water with bouillon for the rest, and low-sodium soy sauce because that's all I ever buy. This will definitely be made over and over. Thanks Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I loved the vinegar in this. I do prefer the chicken broth to the bouillon but it was still very tasty. My onions sunk so I garnished with some fresh chives but other than that I followed it exactly. I did use some food coloring as I was told by a good friend that most restaurants do. It didn't add or take away from the flavor at all but it made for one pretty bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States