Chi Tan T'ang (Egg Drop Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Excellent. Quick and easy to make and delicious. I'm a Chinese food nut, having eaten at hundreds of Chinese food restaurants through the years. This recipe ranks right up there with the best of restaurant egg drop soup I've had anywhere. I may decrease the vinegar slightly next time, but other than that - I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This soup was souperb! I only used 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and two of vinegar, added tofu, and it was GREAT! Definetely better than restaraunt style. I loved how easy it was, too. I will make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I am an EGG Drop Soup NUT! I think this is a very good recipe considering I am pretty picky! I am not much of a soy sauce fan....but I think this is pretty good. I did cut back on the full amount of soy sauce though. It was an A+ in my book. I have made it twice in the past 4 days....that says enough there! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Very simple recipe makes an impressive soup. I've found that using only egg whites makes a better "swirl".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This soup is really good. i made a few changes and substitutions and it was excellent. First, I prepared the boullion in the morning and let it sit most of the day. I substituted cooking sherry for the vinegar and left out the onions. it tasted just like the soup you would find in any Chinese restaurant!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Very salty, too much soy sauce and you could taste the vinigar. Family thought the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
I like using Beef Bullion instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
super easy and pretty good. after reading reviews I used low sodium canned chicken broth, low sodium soy sauce and cut the vinegar by 1/2. Used egg beaters. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
This is quick and easy, but can be overly salty. I use low Soium soy sauce and cut back on the quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
YUM!!! My husband is a big fan of egg drop soup and absolutely loved it! Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States