Chi Chi's Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
So I kindof thought I was making a very soft corn bread. Not so much. While it was a very interesting, and quite yummy treat (read:dessert item) it was NOT a corn bread. Just FYI for the northerners out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
For those who like a shortcut; You can buy the Chi Chi's Corn Cake mix and all you have to add is butter, creamed corn and water. It's much quicker and easier that way and tastes delicious. Also, it just tells you to bake it in the oven, no water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
STOP RIGHT THERE! I am a very picky person when it comes to mocking recipes from restaurants but this recipe is EXACTLY the one that Chi Chi's reastaurant uses. The only I would change is doubling the recipe the first time you make it cuz it goes in a blink of the eye...no joke! DELICIOUS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I used to work at chi-chi's and this recipe is the closest i have found to the original! it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Dinner party went crazy for this. Served with shredded chicken tortilla soup and a fantastic cilantro southwest salad a friend brought. Delish. Found the Masa Harina. Cooked it in the suggested roasting pan, A MUST. So moist. More like dessert. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Tinsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is so yummy! I made it for dinner tonight and it was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Oh just inject the fat right into my thighs! Why oh why did I decide to make this? Now I know just how easy it is to make this tasty stuff. This was just TOO GOOD! I used one can of creamed corn in place of the frozen corn & whipping cream. One can worked out exactly to 1.5 cups. And since it was "creamed", I skipped the food processor step. I also used splenda instead of sugar. Total comfort food...corny carby goodness. BTW: This is EXACTLY the same as "Sweet Corn Cakes" by Sue202 and "Sweet Corn Cake" by Lee Ann Clarke...trying to save you the step of comparing recipes like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Serve with your best chili. Like the Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin chili found on this site. This is good. Just like the "Sweet Corn Cake" recipe found on this site. And like all the others this is a ABSOLUTE DELIGHT!! A must have recipe for every home. It is so good, just like what you would find at any good mexican restaurant. OMG! So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Made just how it said. Delish! Oh I love this sweet corn goop!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I followed the recipe but changed the baking instructions and did not use a water bath. I baked it in a corningware pan with a glass lid for 30 minutes, then removed the lid and baked for the remaining time. This recipe is DELICIOUS!!! We ate over half of it for lunch today, very few leftovers and it will become a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States