Chi Chi's Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Delicious! Instead of the corn, I used 3/4 of a regular can of creamed corn (without processing it). I also used skim milk since I didn't have heavy cream. I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I used to love the real Chi Chi's corn cake and now I make this for my family. I use a potato masher to crush some corn b/c I don't have a blender, let alone a food processor and whatever milk I have on hand instead of cream. My family LOVES IT!! I also just use w/e frozen corn is on sale b/c canned goods have too much sodium. PLEASE try this recipe, my 6 yr old even wants it in her school lunch ?? couldn't be happier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalLight
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I looked for a corn cake recipe after I couldn't find the Chi Chi's mix at the store anymore. I've made it multiple times and love it! After reading a few reviews on here, I think I'll try using cream corn in lieu of frozen corn and whipping cream, as I don't use the cream for anything else. I'm sure it'll turn out just as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I have eaten this hundreds of times at Annie's Santa Fe in KC. It closed years ago. I use a whole can of creamed corn, half the butter and no water in the batter. Then put other half of butter, melted, on the top before baking. Two small scoops on any platter your serving.... also great with sugared berries as an ending to your meal. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Just like the original served at Chi Chi's! Every time I make it I get rave reviews. And I always double the recipe. This recipe makes a small quantity...or maybe bc Everyone goes back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this!! I doubled and used canned corn (it was on sale and is the ONLY canned veg i buy) I drained the whole kernel corn and used half cream style corn, which i did not drain. I used less sugar then to account for the sweetness of the cream corn. Delicious stuff, I could eat it every day! (but I don't!!) yummy yummy yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I was under some pressure with this one, because my wife loved the Chi-Chi's corn cakes. This recipe delivered. She likes this one as well as Chi's-Chi's version. Easy to make, and it makes my wife happy - it's going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dartsnbeer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Used a full can of creamed corn in lieu of whole kernel corn and didn't use the food processor. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States