Chi Chi's Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
Very tasty recipe! Great for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lookitsnatasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
I made it and it was super dry! Like powder. Good flavor tho. I was disappointed because I have been trying to find this recipe. I am going to keep trying to see if I can perfect it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Great recipe, just like ChiChis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Derickson Jambois

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I love this recipe. I have made it several times and it turns out great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Excellent! Just like Chi-chi's--only better because it's homemade. I make this as a side dish any time I'm making a Tex-Mex maindish. Always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Ohio, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Obviously this must be my mistake because others have found success but I did everything by the letter and after 60 minutes at 350 degrees, I have warm corn cake mix. Nothing solid whatsoever! My guess, the foil covering. It never says to take it off. Granted I am not the finest baker in the world. I don't do it often enough, but for the slow learners out there like myself, if something needs to be removed, please put that in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
VERY, VERY GOOD! You'll wan't to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Substitute Cream of Corn for Corn, and skip the food processor step - makes for a better corn cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I LOVE this recipe!!! My husband requests this whenever I make mexican themed meals. I always double it & it still fits into 1 8" square pan. Since I couldn't find the masa harina corn flour, I substitute with cornmeal & it turns out just the same. When I bring this to potlucks, I transfer into my slow cooker & it's one of the first things gone. I haven't tried the creamed corn yet. My favorite frozen so far is Green Giant Extra Sweet Niblets Corn. One 1 lb. bag for a double batch. You gotta add this as a side to your Mexican meals!!! Yum!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pilz Leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This recipe is AWESOME. I have made it twice--the first time I made it, I used a can of creamed corn instead of the frozen corn. It still came out really good, it was just very very very moist, almost wet. My boyfriend suggested that the next time I try the frozen corn. (Of course I was trying to save time on the food processor step!!) So when I made it with the frozen corn, the batter seemed almost too dry to me. I opened a can of creamed corn and added maybe two or three tablespoons....and it turned out PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States