Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made this hoping to mimick the mochi at Menchies. I wanted it to have a slight strawberry taste so I used 2 cups sugar and 4 tsp of strawberry jello for the flavor. I prepped and baked it for 1 hour, turned the oven off and let it sit for 15 additional minutes based on the prior reviews. I sat it on the counter loosely covered overnight and the consistency was perfect. It is quite a mess to cut it up. I dusted with the potato starch and used a kitchen aid pizza cutter to make strips, then used a kitchen shear to cut cubes from the strips. I let the cubes drop into a pyrex dish with potato starch in it then gently rolled them and put them to the side before moving on to the next strip. This recipe makes an enormous amount (one full gallon ziploc bag from just this one 9X13 tray. I will give more feedback about how long it lasts in the refridgerator. The consistency was really great, very soft. As a side note, it did not have a coconut flavor to it which I was afraid of for obvious reasons. Maybe the strawberry jello flavor masked it. It did not taste very sweet and I don't think it would be bad with the additional 1/2 cup sugar. I used the jello for flavor but it is not very strong. I wish I had local access to a strawberry extract to try with it instead. Would love to hear if anyone has made the strawberry flavored and how they went about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Geiger
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Perfect amount of sweetness. The tip about cutting with a plastic knife was spot on! I used the non-stick foil on the market to avoid using oil and ease of mochi removal. Thank you for this recipe. Chichi dango is quite pricey at the supermarket, much cheaper to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calexandra
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was my first time making Chi Chi Dango and it was super easy! Very simple to make. Coming from a Filipino family I had majority of the ingredient at home and the ones I didn't we're easy to find. I'm hoping to play around with different colors and flavors next time I make this. Follow it to the "T" and it'll come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calexandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Thanks for sharing this recipe! So easy to follow. It was even better the next day! I will definitely share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkueny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
You have to be very careful not to overcook this recipe. When I cooked it the full time it would come out dry and no good. It works out great if you start checking it ~20min before it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Awesome recipe, I didn't have to make any alterations at all...amazing. I made this for a bake sale at my son's football game. Tons of people came back to buy more but we sold out early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe is easy and tasty. I started it late at night, set the oven on 350°, then let the mochi cook for 25 mins, covered. shut the oven off and left it in the oven all night without opening the oven door. In the morning I took it out, inverted it and cut it after dusting with potato starch. Perfect consistency with no hard crusty edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I live in Hawaii, and have always been curious to try an easy mochi recipe. Chi-chi mochi is one of my favorites, so I was enthusiastic to make this recipe for a school project on Japan I was doing! I found that the mochi was amazingly professional in both presentation and taste, despite its fabulous simplicity! Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made a half batch of this last night, using a whole can of coconut milk and half cup of water, in a 9 x 9 pyrex. I also only used 1 cup of sugar. It's plenty sweet enough. Waited until today to cut and taste it. Delicious! Used mochi flour for final dusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Worked very well. I could not find potato starch so rolled pieces in sweetened coconut flakes. Tried corn starch as a substitute but the coconut flakes were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States