Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
You have to be very careful not to overcook this recipe. When I cooked it the full time it would come out dry and no good. It works out great if you start checking it ~20min before it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Awesome recipe, I didn't have to make any alterations at all...amazing. I made this for a bake sale at my son's football game. Tons of people came back to buy more but we sold out early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe is easy and tasty. I started it late at night, set the oven on 350°, then let the mochi cook for 25 mins, covered. shut the oven off and left it in the oven all night without opening the oven door. In the morning I took it out, inverted it and cut it after dusting with potato starch. Perfect consistency with no hard crusty edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I live in Hawaii, and have always been curious to try an easy mochi recipe. Chi-chi mochi is one of my favorites, so I was enthusiastic to make this recipe for a school project on Japan I was doing! I found that the mochi was amazingly professional in both presentation and taste, despite its fabulous simplicity! Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made a half batch of this last night, using a whole can of coconut milk and half cup of water, in a 9 x 9 pyrex. I also only used 1 cup of sugar. It's plenty sweet enough. Waited until today to cut and taste it. Delicious! Used mochi flour for final dusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Worked very well. I could not find potato starch so rolled pieces in sweetened coconut flakes. Tried corn starch as a substitute but the coconut flakes were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Super easy to make and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made a half batch and it turned out SO GREAT! This really is as easy as all of these comments say it is. I made it last night and let it sit on the stovetop to cool overnight. Dusted it with more mochiko this morning and cut it with my pastry cutter. Next time, I'm going to use pandan extract instead of red food coloring and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is such an amazing recipe! It was very easy to make. My friends loved the mochi and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good, chewy chichi dango! I had some at a Pinkberry the other day and had to try to make it myself! Here's some tips: It's fine to omit the food colouring. I used mango puree instead of coconut milk and it came out perfect! Only use 2 cups sugar, and it will be sweet enough. When covering with foil, make it domed so that the mochi doesn't touch the foil. I have a fairly new oven which has a higher temp than usual. I still baked for 1hr at 350 degrees, came out looking very runny in the middle (I could still move the batter around in the middle) so I turned off the oven and left it in for 10 more mins - came out perfect! It should look slightly UNDERDONE but not to the point where there is still liquid on top - will be jiggly and move around in pan. I left mine to cool overnight at room temp! I didn't have potato starch, so I used the mochiko. I microwaved it for 20 seconds to be safe :) Also, when removing foil it will stick, (I forgot to grease foil) so use the rice flour on your hands and rip the foil off the mochi, not the mochi off the foil & it will come off easily. When cutting, use a plastic knife wrapped in seran wrap which cuts through effortlessly and doesn't stick! What I did was dump all the cut pieces into the mochiko and then put them in a sifter and tossed them around to get off the extra flour on them! Good luck everyone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeLover99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States