Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
this came out perfect! be patient and let it cool before cutting it into pieces..otherwise they come out shapeless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
We enjoyed this quite a bit; couldn't find potato starch to roll the gel sweet in; used tapioca starch instead with great results. (Tried powdered sugar, but it threw off the flavor.) Next time we are going to try Mango juice instead of coconut milk, and I bet we like that too! Thank You for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMADOOFUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
THIS IS A VERY GOOD RECIPE AND VERY EASY. I live in Hawaii and making mochi is very common. My first time making mochi was with this recipe a few months ago. When i took my first batch i made to work, many people said this was the best tasting mochi they have ever tried, even those who make mochi often. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE DEWNY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I made this recipe numerous times. The first two times the center took forever to bake, but the third time I raised the foil in the middle and it baked great. The sides always seemed to overbake, but overall it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe, but all 4 of the people I had over for dinner weren't at all thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This mochi recipe is a cinch to make, but the results are not very appetizing. The coconut taste coupled with the sweetness of the mochi made it very cloying to me. I couldn't eat more than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very good. We halved the recipe, cooked it for 50 minutes. Came out fine. Coated with tapioca starch/flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
It was absouletly amazing!! however, I would add maybe pepermint extract or another kind of extract as well to add a bit of zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Really easy to make (although my mochiko flour got clumpy with liquid so I had to declump them with my hands) and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodandcats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I grew up in Hawaii and moved to the mainland recently. I was so bummed that I wasn't able to buy mochi in the grocery store anymore. All I had was a glass 9x13 dish and it still came out alright. I didn't want to bother with the potato starch so I just cut what i needed and left the rest whole for later. Thank you so much for this recipe! I made it last night and everyone loved it. I will definitely be making it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States