Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe is even quicker and easier than it sounds. I followed this recipe almost exactly, and had no problems. I used 1/3 cup less sugar, and it came out just sweet enough. When baking, I would suggest taking off the foil for the last 10 minutes, Or keep the foil up so it won't touch the mochi. Otherwise the foil sweats onto the mochi and makes it soggy. I didn't have vanilla or color, so it was a little bland, but I dusted it with powdered sugar & cocoa instead of starch - worked out fine. It seems easy to make flavor changes to this, so I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I love mochi, but in Bali, they always sell mochi with peanut filling. It's round with peanut and sugar inside (maybe someone think this is a good idea?). But I prefer plain. I think it's a lot better. I halved the recipe to give it a try and came out great. I found that it's more difficult to take the mochi out of the pan, rather than cutting it. And I cut the coconut milk bcos I don't want it too coconut-y. I don't have potato starch, so I use corn starch instead. I 'fried' it a few minutes, w/o oil of course, just to have it cooked a little bit. So I didn't eat raw starch. Anyway, will make this again and again. I'm so happy I can make my own mochi. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
this was sooooo easy to make, the flavor is good - I didn't bother with the food coloring as I am too lazy and all the mochi I've ever had has been white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe. It was very easy to make--and to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
i like this recipe so much. the coconut milk practically is the special ingredient. my daughter enjoys it. i had to buy special tools to make this because i made it so often. i put potato starch in a big foil pan & fliped the mochi in it. to make room for cutting & moving around. & i used pam to spray the pan so it wont be too sticky. be careful. too much will cause a mess. it could even ruin the mochi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeneric71504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I really like this recipe. At school we had to bring a dish that had something to do with your culture and all my classmates liked it. I didn't make this recipe before but it was really good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe is terrific! Instead of baking it a 350 degree I bake it at 325 degrees for 1 hour and turn off the oven and left it in for 15 minutes. I also used parchment paper and the edges weren't as hard. My grandchildrens thought I steamed it because it came out so soft and the recipe is easy and they are able to do it on their own. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Simple and easy! I've made this recipe for MANY parties and pot lucks, it has become very popular and goes quick. I followed the recipe exactly, i don't even mix the ingredients separately if I'm rushed. I just through it all in one big bowl and mix it up with my hand blender. You also don't need to buy Potato Starch, just save a little mochiko flour and it works the same. WAIT FOR IT TO COOL! Ideally I'll make this the night before and let it cool overnight, it is very dense so it takes a while to cool. Cut with a plastic knife, it's much easier. I like to dislodge the mochi from the pan then peel it out and place on a pre-dusted(with mochiko) cutting board. Then I slice it into squares or rectangles and dust the sides in mochiko. If you plan to make this often it may be wise to just buy one extra box of mochiko flour and use it for dusting this and future batches of Mochi! Enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I thought I would really love this recipe because I grew up on Okinawa and have been looking for that "pink mochi" we could buy in the markets. My son loved this recipe, but he wasn't raised on "original mochi". For me, I thought the taste had too much coconut flavoring (from the milk obviously), and it's not the original mochi taste I yearn for and miss. I gave it 4 stars only because my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My first time making chi chi dango by myself...turned out great! I used just 2 cups of sugar and it was sweet enough. I also didn't bother with the potato starch--just left it in the pan. A tip that I learned from relatives is to TIGHTLY wrap the pan with foil as it helps the mochi steam while it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States