Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by homemade
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
wow! if you want chi chi dango mochi this is the recipe to use! i followed recipe and it was a success! didn't have food coloring but will buy some next time so it looks as great as it taste! i had a non stick knife (paula deen red one) and i just dusted it w/the potato starch. i also laid parchment paper on counter and very LIGHTLY dusted the surface w/potato starch. when it was cool (3 hours) i turned the glass 9x13 pan over and the whole thing came out in one piece on the parchment paper, dusted mochi w/potato starch, started cutting then spanked off excess starch(other reviewer suggested, good one!). next time i'll be patient wait over night for it cool because this morning the texture is just beautiful. kids and i loved this recipe! MMMMMM! oishii! thanks for posting dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! My ethnicity is Japanese and I've been eating mochi all my life. This recipe will save me a lot of money because my young daughter loves it. She took the mochi to her school potluck and told me everyone devoured it. One of the parents took the leftovers home :-) Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe is perfect and taste very good! I did not use food color and still looks yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I attempted making this. I followed the recipe to a T! But I think an hour was way too long on my oven at 350. It seems a bit over cooked and doesn't have the texture that store bought mochi has. the bottom and sides have all crusted slightly. I might give this another go but cutting some of the bake time in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I know nothing about mochi, except that it's in many mangas/animes, and I made it. I did not expect it to be so stretchy! and gooey! The consistency was rubbery and a little difficult to swallow. Did something go horribly wrong or is that how it's supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This Mochi is the Best I Have Ever Had!! I Followed the Recipe Exactly Except I used 1/4tsp Coconut Extract and 3/4tsp Clear Vanilla Extract and it Came Out Perfect and OH SO DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This Chi Chi Dango Mochi recipe is delicious! Like everyone else says, follow the recipe to a T and it comes out perfect. The hardest part was having the patience for it to cool off. Mochi is hard to find and when I come across any in my travels, they are expensive. Now I can make my own to give as gifts! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
It's so good it allows you to play with colors and flavorings! I have tried green tea powder, strawberry, lemon, melon, cinnamon, cappucino, and chocolate flavorings. And all turned out fabulous. It's so easy to make, too! I just dump everything to food processor and process it for a 10 or 15 seconds before pouring it into the lightly greased pan. Fool proof. Also try substitute half coconut milk with non dairy whipping cream and you will never look back. Some tips: a) I bake mine in water bath, bottom rack, for about 1 hour to avoid the crusty edge problem. b) Let it cool down completely at least two hours, overnight better, before flipping it out of the pan. c) Use lightly greased plastic cake knife for easier cutting. d) For safer option, toast the coating starch without oil for few minutes and cool it down completely before using. e) For the neat coating, put coated mochi in a big strainer and shake the excessive starch off. Excellent recipe! The only bad thing about this mochi is that I can't stop eating them!! Definitely a keeper. Thanks, Dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrot Cake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This mochi comes out great! I've made it several times for different functions, and it is always a hit. Tips I've used that work for me are as follows: 1. Bake the mochi in glass so the edges don't get too hard. 2. Wrap butter knife in plastic wrap to make cutting easier. 3. Roll cut mochi in potato starch and tap(spank) off the extra. Side note: I've also found a recipe here for 'Ono Butter Mochi', which I highly recommend. Thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Very authentic!!! A few tips: I would recommend cooking for longer than one hour. I cooked it for one hour and the middle was still unset and doughy. Maybe add another 15 min. Also, the finished product tastes best when its been in the fridge for a day or two before eating. It gives the moisture time to even out and "set" the mochi pieces. I added azuki (sweet red beans) to my mochi by dropping spoonfuls of it over the top of the mochi batter before baking. I used a sharp metal knife sprayed with cooking spray and it didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States