Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Just like the store bought kind. I loved it and I am so impressed I can finally make a childhood favorite dessert for my kids too! I used a pizza cutter to cut the pieces. Spray with baking spray on the blade first and it didn't stick once. I dusted each piece individually and it didn't take longer than 20 mins to make about 60 pieces. Super happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
We love this recipe. We adjusted the sugar to 2 cups and tried a few variations. We divided mixture into 3 parts. In one part we added 1 tsp green tea macha (green tea powder). In another we added 2 tsp flavored jello (cherry, strawberry, fruit flavoured). In the third portion we put 3/4 tbsp cocoa powder. In a large 9 x 13 glass baking dish, we sectioned off three areas with parchment paper or tin foil. Pour each part into individual section. Bake in a water bath (larger container with water around 1/2 inch surrounding baking dish). Cover with tin foil. To serve after cooling, use a bit of cornstarch to separate. For the chocolate, use a mixture of cocoa and cornstarch. This recipe works really well for frozen mochi ice cream. Other individual additives for mochi flavouring - strawberry, cherry, lemon, cappucino, mango, make sure to blend well. In Hawaii this is cut into small pebble-like pieces dusted with cornstarch and served in a paper cone. Can also take a large 3" circle, add azuki bean paste, chocolate pudding and a strawberry. Fold up so only tip of strawberry shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I did not add the food coloring, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It was fantastic! My kids and their friends all loved it. Thank you for a great mochi recipe that does not require a microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Yummy! This stuff tastes so much better than some other mochi I used to make; I am defiantly going to make this again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homemade
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
wow! if you want chi chi dango mochi this is the recipe to use! i followed recipe and it was a success! didn't have food coloring but will buy some next time so it looks as great as it taste! i had a non stick knife (paula deen red one) and i just dusted it w/the potato starch. i also laid parchment paper on counter and very LIGHTLY dusted the surface w/potato starch. when it was cool (3 hours) i turned the glass 9x13 pan over and the whole thing came out in one piece on the parchment paper, dusted mochi w/potato starch, started cutting then spanked off excess starch(other reviewer suggested, good one!). next time i'll be patient wait over night for it cool because this morning the texture is just beautiful. kids and i loved this recipe! MMMMMM! oishii! thanks for posting dewny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! My ethnicity is Japanese and I've been eating mochi all my life. This recipe will save me a lot of money because my young daughter loves it. She took the mochi to her school potluck and told me everyone devoured it. One of the parents took the leftovers home :-) Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe is perfect and taste very good! I did not use food color and still looks yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I attempted making this. I followed the recipe to a T! But I think an hour was way too long on my oven at 350. It seems a bit over cooked and doesn't have the texture that store bought mochi has. the bottom and sides have all crusted slightly. I might give this another go but cutting some of the bake time in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I know nothing about mochi, except that it's in many mangas/animes, and I made it. I did not expect it to be so stretchy! and gooey! The consistency was rubbery and a little difficult to swallow. Did something go horribly wrong or is that how it's supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This Mochi is the Best I Have Ever Had!! I Followed the Recipe Exactly Except I used 1/4tsp Coconut Extract and 3/4tsp Clear Vanilla Extract and it Came Out Perfect and OH SO DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States