Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Delishious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
good flavour although very sweet... the texture at the edge of the mochi was good.. the inside was chewy and horrible. I think I will do a smaller batch next time :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I've made it more times than I can count and the first time I followed it to a T. I have omitted the vanilla as it isn't a traditional Japanese sweet. My mom is from Japan and she loves this recipe. I also add mini spoonfuls of sweet red bean paste throughout and love it. One last thing, I've always used corn flour to dust and it turns out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeanqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made some of this as an ice cream or frozen yogurt topping, so I cut it into pretty small pieces, which was a little time consuming (but worth it). When made for this purpose, this recipe yields a rather substantial batch, far more than I could ever eat. I tried keeping it in the fridge, hoping that it would keep a little longer. It was really good when fresh, but after several days it got a little dry and crumbly. Since the beauty of mochi is in its texture, that was kind of disappointing. This is a great recipe though and really pretty easy (aside from the tedious work of cutting it into bits). I highly recommend it for mochi fans out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My kids ask me to make this on a regular basis. I did as one reviewer suggested and put the pan in a hot water bath. I found it took about 15 minutes longer to bake. My family like the plain and green tea flavors best. (see reviews) If you have a steamer, cook it in that. It's the way it is done traditionally, and you won't get any crusty edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
First time trying to make homemade mochi using your recipe but substituted the red food dye for cacao powder instead, and I too used tapioca starch and it tastes great! Thank you so much for putting this out there for everyone to enjoy! I'll definitely be using this as a base for other flavored mochis to come;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Wonderful Mochi recipe! The only thing I changed the second time making it was decrease sugar to 2C & left out the food coloring. First time I listened to another reviewer & cooked for 1hr. Not enough! It was mushy in the middle, had to toss. Second time I cooked for 1hr 15mins & checked with plastic knife in the middle. Rave reviews for this! Also, dusted with tapioca starch. I went to Chinatown & I did not find potato starch anywhere & went to several stores. Tapioca is better anyways, potato sounds strange! Next time will incorporate red bean paste somehow..I am thinking encasing it before it cools completely! So easy & so yummy & chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Just like the store bought kind. I loved it and I am so impressed I can finally make a childhood favorite dessert for my kids too! I used a pizza cutter to cut the pieces. Spray with baking spray on the blade first and it didn't stick once. I dusted each piece individually and it didn't take longer than 20 mins to make about 60 pieces. Super happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
We love this recipe. We adjusted the sugar to 2 cups and tried a few variations. We divided mixture into 3 parts. In one part we added 1 tsp green tea macha (green tea powder). In another we added 2 tsp flavored jello (cherry, strawberry, fruit flavoured). In the third portion we put 3/4 tbsp cocoa powder. In a large 9 x 13 glass baking dish, we sectioned off three areas with parchment paper or tin foil. Pour each part into individual section. Bake in a water bath (larger container with water around 1/2 inch surrounding baking dish). Cover with tin foil. To serve after cooling, use a bit of cornstarch to separate. For the chocolate, use a mixture of cocoa and cornstarch. This recipe works really well for frozen mochi ice cream. Other individual additives for mochi flavouring - strawberry, cherry, lemon, cappucino, mango, make sure to blend well. In Hawaii this is cut into small pebble-like pieces dusted with cornstarch and served in a paper cone. Can also take a large 3" circle, add azuki bean paste, chocolate pudding and a strawberry. Fold up so only tip of strawberry shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States