Chi Chi Dango Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good, chewy chichi dango! I had some at a Pinkberry the other day and had to try to make it myself! Here's some tips: It's fine to omit the food colouring. I used mango puree instead of coconut milk and it came out perfect! Only use 2 cups sugar, and it will be sweet enough. When covering with foil, make it domed so that the mochi doesn't touch the foil. I have a fairly new oven which has a higher temp than usual. I still baked for 1hr at 350 degrees, came out looking very runny in the middle (I could still move the batter around in the middle) so I turned off the oven and left it in for 10 more mins - came out perfect! It should look slightly UNDERDONE but not to the point where there is still liquid on top - will be jiggly and move around in pan. I left mine to cool overnight at room temp! I didn't have potato starch, so I used the mochiko. I microwaved it for 20 seconds to be safe :) Also, when removing foil it will stick, (I forgot to grease foil) so use the rice flour on your hands and rip the foil off the mochi, not the mochi off the foil & it will come off easily. When cutting, use a plastic knife wrapped in seran wrap which cuts through effortlessly and doesn't stick! What I did was dump all the cut pieces into the mochiko and then put them in a sifter and tossed them around to get off the extra flour on them! Good luck everyone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeLover99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Delishious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
good flavour although very sweet... the texture at the edge of the mochi was good.. the inside was chewy and horrible. I think I will do a smaller batch next time :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I've made it more times than I can count and the first time I followed it to a T. I have omitted the vanilla as it isn't a traditional Japanese sweet. My mom is from Japan and she loves this recipe. I also add mini spoonfuls of sweet red bean paste throughout and love it. One last thing, I've always used corn flour to dust and it turns out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeanqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made some of this as an ice cream or frozen yogurt topping, so I cut it into pretty small pieces, which was a little time consuming (but worth it). When made for this purpose, this recipe yields a rather substantial batch, far more than I could ever eat. I tried keeping it in the fridge, hoping that it would keep a little longer. It was really good when fresh, but after several days it got a little dry and crumbly. Since the beauty of mochi is in its texture, that was kind of disappointing. This is a great recipe though and really pretty easy (aside from the tedious work of cutting it into bits). I highly recommend it for mochi fans out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My kids ask me to make this on a regular basis. I did as one reviewer suggested and put the pan in a hot water bath. I found it took about 15 minutes longer to bake. My family like the plain and green tea flavors best. (see reviews) If you have a steamer, cook it in that. It's the way it is done traditionally, and you won't get any crusty edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
First time trying to make homemade mochi using your recipe but substituted the red food dye for cacao powder instead, and I too used tapioca starch and it tastes great! Thank you so much for putting this out there for everyone to enjoy! I'll definitely be using this as a base for other flavored mochis to come;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Wonderful Mochi recipe! The only thing I changed the second time making it was decrease sugar to 2C & left out the food coloring. First time I listened to another reviewer & cooked for 1hr. Not enough! It was mushy in the middle, had to toss. Second time I cooked for 1hr 15mins & checked with plastic knife in the middle. Rave reviews for this! Also, dusted with tapioca starch. I went to Chinatown & I did not find potato starch anywhere & went to several stores. Tapioca is better anyways, potato sounds strange! Next time will incorporate red bean paste somehow..I am thinking encasing it before it cools completely! So easy & so yummy & chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Just like the store bought kind. I loved it and I am so impressed I can finally make a childhood favorite dessert for my kids too! I used a pizza cutter to cut the pieces. Spray with baking spray on the blade first and it didn't stick once. I dusted each piece individually and it didn't take longer than 20 mins to make about 60 pieces. Super happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States