Chex® Lemon Buddies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This came out perfect...I love the taste! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this for a group meeting and everyone loved it. They were all trying to guess how it was made. For a change I added some dried cranberries to it...it disappears everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Making this recipe as directed results in soggy chex mix! For my second batch, after adding the powdered sugar, I spread the mix on a baking sheet and backed for 30 minutes at 250 degrees, stirring at 10 minute intervals. This resulted in nice crispy, lemon chex! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was good but did result in very soggy chex! I followed the other suggestion of baking it at 250 but did it for only 20 min which I think was too long and they tasted a bit stale. Next time I'll bake it for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The wife and friend saw this and asked me to translate, then make it - twice. Tastes exactly as you'd imagine. Use butter because margarine is sometimes more than half water, a difference between 2 teaspoons and 2 Tablespoons of water. If I were going to try something different with this, I might replace the butter with coconut or palm grease... crisco is against the law where I live, I couldn't bring myself to lard... Just by reading it, I knew how it would taste, but because it whipped together so easy, and got disappeared, I gave it 5 stars. But think about it... the cool sensation of decrystallizing micropowdered sugar with the tart of lemon - a not unfamiliar pairing - followed by the feel of a coating of solidified grease and sugar giving way to a carb-crunch of gently salted and sweetened fortified rice... it's really rated-x junk food, no doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Well, shoot. This stuff is awesome. Now we can't quit eating it. I understand why a previous reviewer said it was "soggy", but perhaps that person didn't spread it out to cool first. The Chex doesn't stay as crunchy as it is out of the box, but it will be fairly crispy after cooling. I didn't have zest, so it wasn't as lemony as it should have been, but it isn't slowing my family down....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I saw this on the back of the Rice Chex box and HAD to make it the next day for snack time. It was delicious and so easy for my girls to help. Gobble it all up or make 1/2 the recipe because it can get soggy quickly...or follow others' advice. This is another hit for chex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This recipe is really quick, easy, and delicious, but after a day it seemed very boring. It is a good snack, but I would only make half a batch...this recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
4 starts as written - only because the cereal does get soggy/stale tasting. DELICIOUS lemon flavor. Will try baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This won't be as crisp as chex straight from the box, but mine was no where close to "soggy"! I used butter (the real stuff... margarine has much more water in it & if you use it your chex won't be as crisp as it could be) and layed my chex out in as close to a single layer as I could get after they were covered with powdered sugar for about an hour until they cooled completely and had a chance to dry out. I added some dried cranberries and pistacios to mine for some color and extra texture, but this is just as good on its own. Id make this again, but id only make half a batch if I was only making it for a handful of people... it made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States