Chex® Lemon Buddies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this for a group meeting and everyone loved it. They were all trying to guess how it was made. For a change I added some dried cranberries to it...it disappears everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I took mmcl's advice and baked this in a 250* oven for a half hour, stirring every ten minutes. I made no other changes. Absolutely amazing. My boys and I had this whole darn batch gone in less than 24 hours. This totally is my new favorite Chex Mix. SO good. Be sure you bake this, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This came out perfect...I love the taste! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The wife and friend saw this and asked me to translate, then make it - twice. Tastes exactly as you'd imagine. Use butter because margarine is sometimes more than half water, a difference between 2 teaspoons and 2 Tablespoons of water. If I were going to try something different with this, I might replace the butter with coconut or palm grease... crisco is against the law where I live, I couldn't bring myself to lard... Just by reading it, I knew how it would taste, but because it whipped together so easy, and got disappeared, I gave it 5 stars. But think about it... the cool sensation of decrystallizing micropowdered sugar with the tart of lemon - a not unfamiliar pairing - followed by the feel of a coating of solidified grease and sugar giving way to a carb-crunch of gently salted and sweetened fortified rice... it's really rated-x junk food, no doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Well, shoot. This stuff is awesome. Now we can't quit eating it. I understand why a previous reviewer said it was "soggy", but perhaps that person didn't spread it out to cool first. The Chex doesn't stay as crunchy as it is out of the box, but it will be fairly crispy after cooling. I didn't have zest, so it wasn't as lemony as it should have been, but it isn't slowing my family down....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I saw this on the back of the Rice Chex box and HAD to make it the next day for snack time. It was delicious and so easy for my girls to help. Gobble it all up or make 1/2 the recipe because it can get soggy quickly...or follow others' advice. This is another hit for chex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This won't be as crisp as chex straight from the box, but mine was no where close to "soggy"! I used butter (the real stuff... margarine has much more water in it & if you use it your chex won't be as crisp as it could be) and layed my chex out in as close to a single layer as I could get after they were covered with powdered sugar for about an hour until they cooled completely and had a chance to dry out. I added some dried cranberries and pistacios to mine for some color and extra texture, but this is just as good on its own. Id make this again, but id only make half a batch if I was only making it for a handful of people... it made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Yummy! This is super tasty! I was hesitant to try it because I am not a fan of white chocolate, but you can't taste it. This is bright, fun, fresh and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good and VERY easy!! My baking chips were white chocolate instead of vanilla still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMTERRILL98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Exellent, easy to make. Invest in a 2 gallon baggie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigchuckles44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States