Chex® Lemon Buddies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Making this recipe as directed results in soggy chex mix! For my second batch, after adding the powdered sugar, I spread the mix on a baking sheet and backed for 30 minutes at 250 degrees, stirring at 10 minute intervals. This resulted in nice crispy, lemon chex! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this for a group meeting and everyone loved it. They were all trying to guess how it was made. For a change I added some dried cranberries to it...it disappears everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Well, shoot. This stuff is awesome. Now we can't quit eating it. I understand why a previous reviewer said it was "soggy", but perhaps that person didn't spread it out to cool first. The Chex doesn't stay as crunchy as it is out of the box, but it will be fairly crispy after cooling. I didn't have zest, so it wasn't as lemony as it should have been, but it isn't slowing my family down....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I took mmcl's advice and baked this in a 250* oven for a half hour, stirring every ten minutes. I made no other changes. Absolutely amazing. My boys and I had this whole darn batch gone in less than 24 hours. This totally is my new favorite Chex Mix. SO good. Be sure you bake this, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The wife and friend saw this and asked me to translate, then make it - twice. Tastes exactly as you'd imagine. Use butter because margarine is sometimes more than half water, a difference between 2 teaspoons and 2 Tablespoons of water. If I were going to try something different with this, I might replace the butter with coconut or palm grease... crisco is against the law where I live, I couldn't bring myself to lard... Just by reading it, I knew how it would taste, but because it whipped together so easy, and got disappeared, I gave it 5 stars. But think about it... the cool sensation of decrystallizing micropowdered sugar with the tart of lemon - a not unfamiliar pairing - followed by the feel of a coating of solidified grease and sugar giving way to a carb-crunch of gently salted and sweetened fortified rice... it's really rated-x junk food, no doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This came out perfect...I love the taste! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'll give this recipe 5 stars just for the idea...I knew I would love it before I made it. I LOVE lemon that just pops, so I made a few tweaks. I made a strong 1/2 batch to try it out...5 cups cereal, plus 1/2 the other ingredients, rounding up a little. I also added about 1/8 t. extra fine salt (found with the popcorn seasonings). I think salt rounds out almost any dish. AND, to add a little zing to the coating, I added 3 packets of True Lemon to the powdered sugar. True Lemon (and lime, and orange) are usually with the juices in the store, or sometimes the tea, or sweeteners. It really added what I demand from a lemon treat. I used a large (wide) stainless steel bowl for mixing and coating, and didn't bother with a plastic bag. I also bake my regular Chex mix in that large bowl...all 18-20 cups of it. Much easier than spreading on sheet pans. I just bake it about 1/2 hour longer, stirring every 15 minutes. Thanks, Chex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This won't be as crisp as chex straight from the box, but mine was no where close to "soggy"! I used butter (the real stuff... margarine has much more water in it & if you use it your chex won't be as crisp as it could be) and layed my chex out in as close to a single layer as I could get after they were covered with powdered sugar for about an hour until they cooled completely and had a chance to dry out. I added some dried cranberries and pistacios to mine for some color and extra texture, but this is just as good on its own. Id make this again, but id only make half a batch if I was only making it for a handful of people... it made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was good but did result in very soggy chex! I followed the other suggestion of baking it at 250 but did it for only 20 min which I think was too long and they tasted a bit stale. Next time I'll bake it for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
As a lover of all things lemon, this is already a favorite! It's well worth the bit of extra time to grate the lemon peel and squeeze the fresh juice. The zing of the lemon perfectly offset by the powdered sugar is amazing!! Didn't have any problem with sogginess. Initially, when I saw the melted ingredients, I thought it would be too thin and make them soggy. Perhaps let the melted ingredients cool off just a tad before mixing into the Chex?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States