Chex® Lemon Buddies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Yummy! This is super tasty! I was hesitant to try it because I am not a fan of white chocolate, but you can't taste it. This is bright, fun, fresh and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I also got soggy Chex - I think it would have helped to melt the butter first, then add the vanilla chips & lemon. I think my chip/lemon mixture thickened while the butter was melting. But they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These Lemon Buddies are a highly addictive yummy treat. BUT! I took away one star because they really don't keep, even in an airtight container. I recommend making them the day you are planning to eat them. Sadly I would love to give these as gifts, but until I can figure out how to keep them from tasting stale the next day, I will have to eat these up myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This won't be as crisp as chex straight from the box, but mine was no where close to "soggy"! I used butter (the real stuff... margarine has much more water in it & if you use it your chex won't be as crisp as it could be) and layed my chex out in as close to a single layer as I could get after they were covered with powdered sugar for about an hour until they cooled completely and had a chance to dry out. I added some dried cranberries and pistacios to mine for some color and extra texture, but this is just as good on its own. Id make this again, but id only make half a batch if I was only making it for a handful of people... it made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
4 starts as written - only because the cereal does get soggy/stale tasting. DELICIOUS lemon flavor. Will try baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This recipe is really quick, easy, and delicious, but after a day it seemed very boring. It is a good snack, but I would only make half a batch...this recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Sharpe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I saw this on the back of the Rice Chex box and HAD to make it the next day for snack time. It was delicious and so easy for my girls to help. Gobble it all up or make 1/2 the recipe because it can get soggy quickly...or follow others' advice. This is another hit for chex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Well, shoot. This stuff is awesome. Now we can't quit eating it. I understand why a previous reviewer said it was "soggy", but perhaps that person didn't spread it out to cool first. The Chex doesn't stay as crunchy as it is out of the box, but it will be fairly crispy after cooling. I didn't have zest, so it wasn't as lemony as it should have been, but it isn't slowing my family down....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The wife and friend saw this and asked me to translate, then make it - twice. Tastes exactly as you'd imagine. Use butter because margarine is sometimes more than half water, a difference between 2 teaspoons and 2 Tablespoons of water. If I were going to try something different with this, I might replace the butter with coconut or palm grease... crisco is against the law where I live, I couldn't bring myself to lard... Just by reading it, I knew how it would taste, but because it whipped together so easy, and got disappeared, I gave it 5 stars. But think about it... the cool sensation of decrystallizing micropowdered sugar with the tart of lemon - a not unfamiliar pairing - followed by the feel of a coating of solidified grease and sugar giving way to a carb-crunch of gently salted and sweetened fortified rice... it's really rated-x junk food, no doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was good but did result in very soggy chex! I followed the other suggestion of baking it at 250 but did it for only 20 min which I think was too long and they tasted a bit stale. Next time I'll bake it for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States