Chex® Lemon Buddies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
My Grandmother and mother have made chocolate versions of this for many many years, but this is the first year I have tried lemon. This recipe is SOO good. Perfect if lemon is something you really enjoy. I will be bringing this to my Mothers for christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
As a lover of all things lemon, this is already a favorite! It's well worth the bit of extra time to grate the lemon peel and squeeze the fresh juice. The zing of the lemon perfectly offset by the powdered sugar is amazing!! Didn't have any problem with sogginess. Initially, when I saw the melted ingredients, I thought it would be too thin and make them soggy. Perhaps let the melted ingredients cool off just a tad before mixing into the Chex?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
It was delicious, but had a stale-like texture. They didn't have the same texture as the Muddy Buddies. They turned out a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are delicious. The most important step in the recipe is to spread on wax paper/cookie sheet and let them dry. If you don't do this they will have a soggy or stale texture. A new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'll give this recipe 5 stars just for the idea...I knew I would love it before I made it. I LOVE lemon that just pops, so I made a few tweaks. I made a strong 1/2 batch to try it out...5 cups cereal, plus 1/2 the other ingredients, rounding up a little. I also added about 1/8 t. extra fine salt (found with the popcorn seasonings). I think salt rounds out almost any dish. AND, to add a little zing to the coating, I added 3 packets of True Lemon to the powdered sugar. True Lemon (and lime, and orange) are usually with the juices in the store, or sometimes the tea, or sweeteners. It really added what I demand from a lemon treat. I used a large (wide) stainless steel bowl for mixing and coating, and didn't bother with a plastic bag. I also bake my regular Chex mix in that large bowl...all 18-20 cups of it. Much easier than spreading on sheet pans. I just bake it about 1/2 hour longer, stirring every 15 minutes. Thanks, Chex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I thought these were pretty good! I didn't have to go thru the baking step that some described. Be sure to keep it in an airtight container when not being nibbled on- it goes stale pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Flavor was great! but mine turned out chewy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Exellent, easy to make. Invest in a 2 gallon baggie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck VanDerhoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good and VERY easy!! My baking chips were white chocolate instead of vanilla still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMTERRILL98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I took mmcl's advice and baked this in a 250* oven for a half hour, stirring every ten minutes. I made no other changes. Absolutely amazing. My boys and I had this whole darn batch gone in less than 24 hours. This totally is my new favorite Chex Mix. SO good. Be sure you bake this, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States