Chex® Lemon Buddies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are delicious. The most important step in the recipe is to spread on wax paper/cookie sheet and let them dry. If you don't do this they will have a soggy or stale texture. A new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'll give this recipe 5 stars just for the idea...I knew I would love it before I made it. I LOVE lemon that just pops, so I made a few tweaks. I made a strong 1/2 batch to try it out...5 cups cereal, plus 1/2 the other ingredients, rounding up a little. I also added about 1/8 t. extra fine salt (found with the popcorn seasonings). I think salt rounds out almost any dish. AND, to add a little zing to the coating, I added 3 packets of True Lemon to the powdered sugar. True Lemon (and lime, and orange) are usually with the juices in the store, or sometimes the tea, or sweeteners. It really added what I demand from a lemon treat. I used a large (wide) stainless steel bowl for mixing and coating, and didn't bother with a plastic bag. I also bake my regular Chex mix in that large bowl...all 18-20 cups of it. Much easier than spreading on sheet pans. I just bake it about 1/2 hour longer, stirring every 15 minutes. Thanks, Chex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I thought these were pretty good! I didn't have to go thru the baking step that some described. Be sure to keep it in an airtight container when not being nibbled on- it goes stale pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Flavor was great! but mine turned out chewy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Exellent, easy to make. Invest in a 2 gallon baggie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigchuckles44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good and VERY easy!! My baking chips were white chocolate instead of vanilla still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMTERRILL98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I took mmcl's advice and baked this in a 250* oven for a half hour, stirring every ten minutes. I made no other changes. Absolutely amazing. My boys and I had this whole darn batch gone in less than 24 hours. This totally is my new favorite Chex Mix. SO good. Be sure you bake this, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Yummy! This is super tasty! I was hesitant to try it because I am not a fan of white chocolate, but you can't taste it. This is bright, fun, fresh and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I also got soggy Chex - I think it would have helped to melt the butter first, then add the vanilla chips & lemon. I think my chip/lemon mixture thickened while the butter was melting. But they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These Lemon Buddies are a highly addictive yummy treat. BUT! I took away one star because they really don't keep, even in an airtight container. I recommend making them the day you are planning to eat them. Sadly I would love to give these as gifts, but until I can figure out how to keep them from tasting stale the next day, I will have to eat these up myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States