Chewy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I have quite a bit to say about these...they are excellent, my husband and I couldn't stop eating them, both the dough and the cooked cookies. They are tender, just the right amount of sweet flavor, and are buttery, even though I didn't use real butter, but instead used margarine, like the recipe called for.Don't soften the margarine before you make them (the recipe DOES NOT say to, but a lot of cookie recipes do, so I just wanted to note that). Also, to cut down on the stickiness of the dough, I recommend chilling the dough a bit, but not too long (just until it is no longer extremely sticky). I made one batch before I chilled it, and more after and the batch before the chilling spread out more and were a little flatter and maintained their chewy centers better. I would not recommend cooking them for 15 minutes; they will be WAY over done. I cooked mine for 9-10 min and did not allow them to brown at all. Then I left them on the cookie sheet before taking them off to finish cooking a little more. I recommend these highly and will make them again! I especially liked that they did not need to be rolled...who has time for that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
483 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have a small dessert business & frequently make sugar cookies (plain, frosted, etc.). This recipe is always a hit with clients who want a true chewy sugar cookie. I always use soften butter to make the cookies-the taste is incredible. When I double the recipe, I usually add 1-2 extra tbsp of flour (depending on the humidity). Also, I have found that chilling the dough for 1-2 hours, or even overnight, prevents the cookies from flattening out. Clients really like when the cookies are rolled in a sugar/cinnamon combo--very yummmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Excellent and easy cookie recipe. I was curious to see how this cookie would be because of the range of ratings from one star to five. As promised, the cookies turned out crispy on the outside and nice and chewy on the inside. If you are looking for a "all-over" chewy cookie (not crisp at all and more soft) then this recipe is NOT for you. Also, if you are looking for a sugar cookie to roll and cut-out, this may not be the recipe. The dough is awfully sticky. I did change a couple of things: I used butter instead of margarine and after the first batch I quit rolling them in the sugar (it was too sweet for me!) Otherwise, the cookies turned out deliciously buttery and the texture is still the same on the second day. Good tips from others: if the dough is too sticky to handle, refrigerate it. My only beef is that the cookies are fairly thin; this recipe would be even better with if it produced a super thick chewy, crispy sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
NOTE: We have change the 1 teaspoon baking powder in this recipe to 1 teaspoon baking soda, as requested by the recipe submitter. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
ok, somehow I deleted my first review for these cookies... basically all I said was that these are really good, I have tried a lot of sugar cookie recipes and these are among the top two, the other one being Cracked Sugar Cookies I. These are nice and soft. Make sure you don't cook them too long, they are done when you just start to see a little color, kind of a yellowish color, but very slight, don't worry they will harden! The dough and the cookies themselves taste kind of like the Break 'n Bake that you can buy in the grocery stores! So, thanks so much, Cindy! It's been a couple of weeks since I posted the above statements--I made both this recipe and Cracked sugar cookies I and compared them. I took one bite of one and then one bite of the other--this is definently the best sugar cookie recipe I have EVER tasted. There is no lack of flavor, these are so awesome! They look good, taste good. You don't even need frosting. They kind of remind me of Sugar Cookies that you can buy at Subway. I just want to encourage anyone looking for a chewy, soft, yummy sugar cookie to TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!! I give these ************************* 25 stars!!!! I wonder what they would be like with white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts???? I might try that...if I do, I'll let you know...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
THESE WERE THE BEST SUGAR COOKIES EVER!!!!!!! I think they taste the BEST when JUST baked... so I keep the dough in a container and everytime I make them I just use the dough.. itz REALLY easy too. Also.. I added 1 teaspoon of corn starch. I do this to my chocolate chip cookies too.. it makes the cookies more crunchy on the outside and chewy in the inside. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was exactly what I was looking for! They were perfectly brown around the edges and soft and chewy in the middle. I could have eaten the whole batch if everyone else didn't chow on them! I froze a dozen balls and baked them a week later straight from the freezer into the oven. They were even better!! Great recipe! Will become one of my standbys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
The days of rolling and cutting sugar cookies are over! These are the PERFECT cookie. Just as described....golden crispy edges with soft chewy centers. My kids (9,6,3) helped make them...They are child-proof as well. I think next time I might try adding the almond extract or lemon and some vanilla frosting or glaze. You cant go wrong with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
These were the absolute best sugar cookies I've ever eaten. I doubt I'll be convinced to even try another recipe again! On my air-bake pan, they looked professional,thin, perfectly round and beautiful. On an older, darker cookie sheet, they were a little thicker and they browned around the edges, but even after we'd eaten all of them, we still couldn't decide which were better. Definitely try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
coookies would not roll into balls. stuck to the pan and would not come off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States