Chewy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
These turned out really good, one of the best recipes so far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Outstanding recipe!! I didn't have the time to refridge dough, but had promised sugar cookies for the office the next day. So glad I found this recipe-it saved me and is now my 'go to' favorite. Additions: 1/4tsp Almond Extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Love it. Quick and delicious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latosha Covington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
These cookie are awesome, their quick to prepare, makes a lot for a little. I took a chance and put a little apricot preserve in a few balls of cookies dough before baking them and.....Oh Yea! Super Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
The dough came out very sticky and wet so I added an extra cup of flour and half a cup of sugar. I had already started making this when I realized I didn't have baking soda, so I replaced the teaspoon of baking soda with 3 of baking powder and they not only came out of the oven much thicker and fluffier than what a lot of the above comments were saying, but the dough was much easier to handle after letting it rest in the fridge for just a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
A five star keeper recipe for me! My favorite part is that I always have all ingredients on hand. I use cold butter (rather than margerine) straight from the refrigerator- I love that I don't have to plan ahead & put butter out to soften! My first batch came out of the oven totally flattened & smashed up against each other, and that was with the recommended 2" spacing. I had to cut them apart, but the kids didn't mind, because the cookies were huge! After that I sized the dough ball down- more hard boiled egg yolk sized- and I left even more space between each ball on the cookie sheet. These were a better size cookie for us, but were still fairly flat. Flat, but picture perfect and excellent texture. I may try adding an extra TBS of flour or two the next time I make them, and I will make them again- Yum! Easy! Great flavor! I found that 11 minutes was perfect in my oven. For those of you who had trouble with the cookies sticking to the pan, you MUST remove them when they are still warm. Use a thin metal spatula and transfer them to a wire rack about 3 minutes after they come out of the oven. If they cool on the cookie sheet, they will crumble and break when you try to transfer them. (For one of the pans I got distracted and let them sit too long...The crumbs still taste great though!) Try these! You will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Dough is way too soft, can't form a ball or nothing with it. Raw batter tastes better than cooked product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McElhiney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I loved this recipe except for the fact they were hard to roll due to the stickiness. From this recipe, I made snicker doodle cookies - by rolling them in cinnamon and sugar, and regular sugar cookies. I also sprinkled the sugar cookie with red sugar as well as mixed the red sugar into the rest of the batter. Imagination goes a long way! The cookies are very tasty, light, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The flavor was great and it was chewy, but super flat. The problem that I had was the dough was goey and sticky. I followed the recipe. This is the 2nd time I make it and it comes out goey and sticky again. I think it might of been that I beat it to long. Another thing is I put the dough on a non-stick tray it burned, and it got stuck. The 2nd time I put Pam(which is the butter spray, prevents from food sticking to the pan) on the non stick tray and dusted it off with flour and it didn't stick nor it burned. My 2 year old daughter loves to bake and she wanted to make sugar cookies. The 1st batch we did, she said it was too sweet, because we rolled it into a 1/4 cup of sugar. 2nd batch we did was awesome in flavor. We left out the 1/4 cup of sugar. Instead, we sprinkled it on top of the cookie. I am going to try again and hopefully it does not come out goey, sticking to my fingers. Going to beat it less this time. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Stuck to the pan, unable to keep any general shape, excessively sweet and impossible to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States