Chewy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I think I've been looking for it all my life! These cookies were wonderful, exactly as described -- crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside. Warm, they were heavenly, perfect. And the next day, they were still delicious. They were a big hit with all who tried them. Leaving them on the cookie sheet for five minutes worked perfectly. I will be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
good recipe. the only thing that upset me was the lack of chewiness that was stated in the recipe. i also think it could have used a tad bit more of sugar. however, with some frosting on top, it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This recipe is DELICIOUS!! If u want a quick n easy sugar cookie these are it ;) With my experience they were great the first three days after that they were more so hard then soft. Other then that minor detail THEY ARE DELICIOUS :) thank u for sharing. Update: 10/28/14- I just made these WITHOUT EGGS They're still delicious. I substituted the eggs with 2/4 cup of vegetable oil. Still amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizzque

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I didn't have any margarine so i used about one cup butter. Also cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup. Added 1 package True Lemon powder to 1/2 dough. If you like sugar cookies, this is good recipe. Personally I'd rather have chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joderita
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
These cookies are chewy and buttery and delicious! I've made them twice as snickerdoodles in two different ovens, with two types of flour/sugar combos (regular flour and sugar, and organic whole wheat flour and organic sugar) and they've turned out soft, chewy, and slightly crunchy around the edges both times. One downfall is that they don't hold their shape, so can't be cut into shapes like traditional sugar cookies. I would suggest a different sugar cookie recipe, if you're wanting to make shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is exactly what I was looking for today. I didn't have margarine, so I used butter flavored shortening, and these taste delicious! I did use almond extract, because that is the flavor I was looking for when I wanted to make cookies today. They are soft and soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Easy to make. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
These are some of the BEST COOKIES I've ever tasted and I am extremely picky. Like the description says, crunchy on the outside and very chewy on the inside. Easy, simple, buttery but not greasy or heavy. I've made these many times and I have to make small batches because my boyfriend inhales them. Friends from France, the US and Argentina tasted them. Palates from around the world raved! People cursed after they took their first bite, they were that good. I make a few big so I get a few soft cookies in the batch for those who like them. The rating is for the recipe as it is written and because my friend had the ingredients on hand. Nonetheless, since then I've made them with butter and a touch less sugar and they're phenomenal. I tend to just measure the 2cups sugar and take out a few tbsp and I don't roll the cookies in sugar before baking. Some mentioned the dough being sticky. This hasn't bothered me but just to see, once I added 1/2 cup flour and they were easier to handle without any noticeable difference in taste/texture once baked. A note of caution, 1 minute makes a big difference when baking these so check on them or take one tray out at 8min and another tray at 10min and see what you prefer. I bake mine 11 minutes with the bottoms clearly golden. Never trying another sugar cookie recipe, these are PERFECT. Follow the recipe if you want, make a few changes if you like, the cookies magically have always come out great. 10 stars CindyAnn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
these are the best cookies i have ever had!!!! my whole family likes them even my 2 children and they don't usually eat sugar cookies because there are no chocolate chips!!!!:) thank yo for giving people this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
this one sucks! i just tried it an the dough was not firm it was all sloppy. I cooked one batch at 350 for 8 minutes and i looked at them an the whole cookie sheet was lined with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States