Chewy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter and my first batch came out rather crispy.... i read through a few of the reviews and noticed that some people said to take them out as soon as they changed slightly in color. i did this with my second batch and they were much more chewy. i think this is the key... as soon as you see a slight change (and i mean slight)...take them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used a toaster oven for this and the recipe was great. I thought it was too sweet and my mom did also so I had to add more salt then needed... Tbh the eggs, I thought was I little too much so I had to add more flour :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Šhøhågÿ Šåimå

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These are my great grandma's recipe for sugar cookies, although she used a combination of crisco and butter. They are chewy on the inside, just as promised, and crispy on the outside. They literally melt in your mouth. Add some butter frosting, and you are in heaven! I love to freeze them and they taste great just out of the freezer too. Crispy and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
OMG, I added crushed up candy canes to mine for Christmas cookies, and they are soooooo good!!! You just mix them in at the end when you are adding the flour mixture. My boyfriend says he has to wonder if there is a better cookie!!! (and he LOVES cookies). Even I, who typically hate peppermint, loved these!!! You can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These are OK. For some reason every sugar cookie i make has this weird salty taste that makes me a little sick to my stomach. I thought it was the butter, but obviously it's not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Excellent sugar cookies. A couple of things I would note. I added vanilla for a bit more flavor and used real butter (softened) not margarine. I also used Hudson Cream Flour which I swear by for baked goods because it's milled finer. You can find it at any Walmart. I would also recommend using a stand mixer to beat your eggs, butter and sugar really light and fluffy before adding flour. I made the dough beforehand and refrigerated it overnight. The dough was stiff, but I formed it in a ball and then flattened it out a bit on the cookie sheet. I love to sprinkle them with Penzey's Vietnamese Extra Fancy cinnamon before baking. If you haven't discovered Penzey's spices yet, www.penzeys.com, you're in for a treat. You'll never go back to store bought cinnamon again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is the recipe I have been looking for! I sprinkled with red and green sugar for christmas instead of rolling in white sugar. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These sugar cookies are just what I was looking for. They are so good. I saw where some thought they were too thin. I use Hudson Cream short patent flour. All cookies do not spread as much, and they are not as thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
They were chewy when they came out of the oven but 20 minutes later, they became weapons. I'm not sure if I should have adjusted for altitute but they flattened out pretty thin. The flavor is meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Amazing!!!!! Easy and so chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States