Chewy Strawberry Oatmeal Cookie Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very very sorry I tried these. Made them in a small cookie pan, took forever to cook since they were too thick I guess. Sorry but I just don't think this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I read the comments and cut the sugar down drastically, added a little cinnamon and all spice for some extra flavor, and used Maple Syrup organic oatmeal packages... what I ended up with left a *lot* to be desired. I'm guessing you need a good deal of sugar in the first step in order to get the egg mixture to the consistency that it needs to be to cook correctly. I'm not sure what purpose the additional 1/2 cup would serve as far as "baking science" goes (i'm not educated), but next time I try these that is *all* I'm going to cut out. If you think it's going to be too sweet, I'd suggest using plain quick cooking oats or some other less-sweet variety than what some of the Quaker packages that most people use might have. If I didn't want to eat my Kashi oatmeal I'd try it with that, but 8 packages is too much to use on a potentially disastrous recipe! I might make this again... I have a lot of left over packages from a Costco variety box that I never got to (I was pregnant and didn't like any of it) and I've been running through recipes with instant oatmeal. This might be the best one yet, but that's really not saying much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
My family loved this recipe... I did make a few changes. Added the equivelent in just plain quaker oats and 8-10 mushy strawberrys that blended in nicely. Left the sugar the same and eyed the vannila and left out the salt. When in the pan sprinkled crushed cinnamon grahms on top. Cooked like the previous reviewer 12 mins and 1 min broil. Then once out sprickled some powder sugar. Attractive, delicious, and extremely chewy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StunnaShades
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I didn't add ANY sugar, used applesauce instead of butter, cinnamon roll instant oatmeal packets, and added raspberries. Tasty and chewy out of the oven- a newfangled breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StunnaShades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I read the other reviews before I made this and made a few changes. First, I used Maple and Brown Sugar flavored oatmeal and cut back to 1 cup of Splenda (which measured cup for cup to sugar) instead of the 2+ cups of white sugar. I added about 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon more vanilla (I always eye the vanilla and add more than every recipe calls for). I baked it for 12 minutes on 350, then turned on the broiler and let the top brown for 1 minute. It is soooo good and not overly sweet. Makes great breakfast cookies/bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Wish I had read the reviews ahead of time, cause I too thought this was WAY too sweet. Also, I disagree about cooking it until it's "browned and edges are crispy." I got the edges crispy, and even though wasn't browned yet was still overdone. Once cooled, the edges were hardened up enough that I couldn't eat it, so I pulled some out of the middle. I used some kind of spice flavored oatmeal as it's what I had. This recipe has potential but needs some work -- I was surprised to see something using instant oatmeal and think it's great that any flavor could be used to fit one's tastes. I prefer this type of low-fat thing over cookies, but not when it's that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Since the previous reviewer thought they were too sweet (there's already sugar in the packets!), I eliminated the final 1/2 cup of sugar and spread the batter in an 11 x 7 pan; I also used the raisins and spice flavor. After baking the batter about 45 minutes, I cut it into squares. They were still too sweet for my husband, so I took them in to work, where everyone thought they were great! If I make them again, though, I'll try reducing the sugar by another 1/2 cup and baking in a 9 x 13 pan for 20-25 minutes. GREAT way to use up a flavor nobody cares for anymore! (Even Quaker Oats Web site doesn't have any recipes using INSTANT oatmeal!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
This was extremely sweet! It also took a lot longer to bake then expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States