Chewy Red Raspberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mrs.schna711
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These are amazing and so easy to make. I substituted the preserves for a pint of fresh raspberries. I used the bottom of my measuring cup to push the crust into the bottom of my baking and then used it to smash my raspberries on top. I WILL be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I added more jelly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
All I had was strawberry preserves and I also used vanilla instead of almond extract. These were very quick and easy to make and were delicious. Moist and chewy. I'm sure you could use any flavor preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe is excellent. I made a few minor changes after reading the comments about being too sweet. Instead of jam, I used fresh raspberries, about a quart, mixed with only 1/2 cup of sugar(jam would have at least 4 times as much), and a tablespoon of clear jel. This made more of the raspberry layer, which was so very yummy. I should mention that I doubled the recipe for the crust and crumble part and used a 9 x 13 pan with the quart of raspberries. Baking time was good at 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
5 stars!! Very easy, very few ingredients, and GOOD! I adjust the recipe for more servings and use a larger baking pan. They are done in 30 minutes. I sometimes add chocolate chips along with the topping....GREAT either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made this recipe with blueberry preserves a couple days ago....and had a mishap. I mistakingly left out the baking powder... as if that wasn't enough, I baked it too long. Sometimes mistakes can be good. This one sure was! The finished product tasted like scrumptious blueberry granola! We couldn't get enough of this stuff...lol. I will definitely make this again, but next time I will make sure to follow the recipe exactly. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigRed76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I made these using blueberry preserves and the result was very good! Because so many reviewers said these were too sweet, I did cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 cup. I didn’t think 1/4 cup of the oat mixture would be enough for the topping, so I reserved 1/2 cup and was pleased with the result. These turned out great! Chewy and not too sweet. I think you could use any flavor of preserves with excellent results. I’ll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Really easy recipe with great results. I live overseas & could not get raspberry preserves. Even though I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, these squares were still VERY sweet with apricot jam. If you are not using a (very) tart jam, consider seriously reducing the sugar. I will use 1/2 cup next time. (Some added coconut with the topping is also a nice addition.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Awesome recipe! Have made it with and without the almond flavoring and was great both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I, too, didn't measure the jam and covered the bottom (which I'm pretty sure ended up WAY more than 1/2 cup!). I also used raspberry extract instead of almond extract and these turned out super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States