Chewy Red Raspberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I thought these bars were great, but my two sisters hated them. Not sure why, but I really, really, liked them, so I'm still giving them 5 stars :) They were super easy to make as well. I used quick oats, and they worked very well. The only change I made was to line my pan with Reynold's Release nonstick foil instead of greasing it...I could lift the finished bars out easily, which made cutting and removal much easier, and the bars looked much nicer. I also used the bottom of a measuring cup to press the oat mixture into the pan...it worked great and wasn't messy at all. Thanks for sharing the recipe...I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Super easy bars!! I heated up the Raspberry Preserves in the microwave for about 45 seconds before spreading them on top of the bottom layer of oats to make it a little easier to spread and it worked like a charm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Love how easy it was to whip up a dessert! These are really good. Subbed Red Plum Jam instead since out of raspberry preserves. A bit too sweet (not because of the jam)so next time I will cut back on the sugar a bit by maybe a tablespoon or so. Will make again! Mine are still too hot to eat but I keep picking at it anyway. So yummy! ***Update 3 days later: I just had to make some more! I love these. I subtracted 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and it was perfect for me. ***Update 4 days later: Used vanilla extract instead of almond. Love it this way the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made this exactly as written, except I didn't measure the jam, I just spooned it over the mixture until it covered most of it. Maybe it was because of that, but I found these a tad on the sweet side. I think when I make these again I'll use less sugar. Other than that, these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
these were very tasty! I wanted to try something a little different and this was perfect. I followed the directions to a "T" and they were perfect. I let mine cook for only 30 minutes and that was plenty enough-will definitely use again. thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These are awesome! Don't know if I like these or Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars better. These have the almond flavoring a 1/2 cup more sugar. I think I remember the others being more crumbly but these ones held together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I didn't try these I baked them and sent them to my nephew for his birthday and I got a call that he loved them. I did us fresh strawberry jam vereses the raspberry because that is what I had on hand. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Super easy and deliciouus and sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole McGovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Made it exactly as is and it's delicious. Yummy after school snack for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, and was a bit worried about how thick the crust seemed to me compared to the pictures, but WOW does it come out perfect! It was not too thick after baking, very easy to cut ito tiny little squares without breaking. They were soooo delicious, and chewy, and whoever said they were not flavourful, must have done something wrong! I took them to our Sunday family dinner, and even though everyone has become sooo picky due to the amount of desserts they've tasted from me, they unanimously LOVED these!!! (which is rare!) My brothers could not stop eating them, they were sooo addictive! All I could hear during dessert time was "mmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmm mmmm..." Thank you so much for this sooo simple, amazingly delicious recipe! I truly believe that the most delicious foods are the simplest ones! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States