Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I love a chewy cookie and this is it! I added 1/2 tsp. of Salt and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. I don't like the way the shortening has a waxy feel to it, and would prefer butter, but wasn't sure if that would make them crunchy so I stuck with the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The best pb cookie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made these for my husband and kids and they LOVED them! I made them for a work event also and they were the first things to go. Everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
These were great cookies!! I followed some advice from the other reviews and added 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp salt and about 1/4 more peanut butter. I baked them for 11 minutes on a stone at 350 and they turned out chewy and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
While baking these cookies smelled awesome. But, like many of the other reviews I have to say they were pretty bland and grainy. I even used butter flavored shortening. I will go with a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I always wondered about the odd poor rating for a recipe that receives such high marks, and now I'm the one doing that. First off my cookies turned out looking nothing like the picture here. Followed the recipe using chunky peanut butter, maybe that was that the problem. At eight minutes they were cooked perfectly but the cookie that came out of the oven sort of puffed up then sank. Texture was almost meringue like, taste was only mildly peanut butter-y! Rolled some of the balls of dough in sugar before baking trying to add some flavor to the finished cookie. Did try to put a Hershey kiss into some and the cookies started to cave in, oh well. (I even used the addition of vanilla as many had previously suggested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clare'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The best peanut butter cookies I have ever made. Instead of using a cup of shortening, I used 3/4 cup and a stick of softened butter and rolled them in sugar before criss crossing them. They turned out perfectly and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I hate to give it a bad review, however they came out grainy! They fall apart easy. Not chewy, just grainy. I followed the recipie exacty so I'm not sure what went wrong. But I don't think I'll be useing this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. Cookies came out bland and easily crumble. And it doesn't yield 18 cookies, I got 3 dozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRDNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These cookies just taste like shortening. Use another recipe...one with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWeber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States