Chewy Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Cookies spread and were not chewy like I thought. I also thought the recipe needed some salt. I have a half batch left that I am going to try to bake at 325 to see if that makes a difference in spreading,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Things to consider however : 1. to avoid cookie de-shaping add baking powder instead of baking soda. It will rise and not expand. 2. You can use vegetable oil instead of butter/shortening etc. 3. You must use ungreased pan/sheet to avoid a cookie de-shaping. 4. Instead of vanilla extract USE cardamom powder, it gives fresh taste to the cookie. I made these and IT all rocked. BAKED cookies first time! Baking is a science so use proper measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gulshan Naqvee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael Mercer
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I followed it to the point and it ended up the worst I've ever done! I've never used milk before and I think that's what did it, but they came out flat, sticky more like a cereal texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Mercer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Mine came out bland even though I added chocolate chips, coconut and sugar. I did have to add wee bit more flour (1/4 cup) because I live at a higher altitude, so the the consistency was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristol_the_pistol
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made some really tasty chocolate chip cookies the other day that my boyfriend and I loved! We wanted to try some oatmeal cookies so I used this recipe. I followed it to the "t" and the didn't turn out so hot. They taste great but they turned out to be flat pancakes stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Jackie Morton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These cookies had a great taste, and remained chewy even after 4 days. I made only a couple of changes. I used 1/4 cup coconut oil, and 1/2 cup softened butter. I increased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon, and could have used more. The batter was very thick, and even when baked didn't spread as I expected it to. This may be because I let them sit on the counter for a little over an hour before I baked them. This would give the dry ingredients more time to absorb the liquid. For the first pan, I flattened them a bit after they started baking because the dough was still in a ball after they were more than half baked. For the second pan, I flattened them before I put them into the oven. I baked them for 12 minutes to get them to brown a little. After they cooled, I put them into a plastic bag, and 4 days later they were still moist and chewy. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used Craisins and almonds! These are wonderful. Make 2 batches because the first one will be gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephaniienaomi
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I was bored and decided to bake cookies and I absolutely LOVE this recipe! They turned out exactly as I imagined them. I replaced the butter/shortening with margaring, only 1/2 cup of walnuts and 1 cup of dried cranberries instead of raisins! They turned out awesome. Definitely going to bake them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephaniienaomi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yummy! I used chocolate chips instead of nuts and raisins. I thought they cooked well and were easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent recipe. I add dark cocoa chips and a fresh grate of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Ford

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States