Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These cookies were perfect! I made them for my son's daycare, so I went light on the sugar and upped the applesauce a bit. I also substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour. I read the reviews first, so I carefully checked the cookies before taking them out of the oven. I cooked them for 11 minutes, and I got lots of compliments on these. Oh yeah-- since these were made for toddlers, I left out the nuts and added a sprinkling of butterscotch chips and just used more raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janaasher
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white flour, cut out the nuts, and used 3/4 c raisins and 3/4 c chocolate chips (certified nut free). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaasher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These were ok. They didnt spread out, but cooked perfectly in 10 minutes. I also added some mollassas for the sugar and cinnamon for flavor. they were a little dry after the first day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good cookies!! I really liked the use of only one stick of butter. As to the baking time, as with ALL cookies, baking time will be effected by the size of your cookies, what kind of cookie sheet you use and how accurate your oven is, so don't really think that should be how you rate a recipe. I used a 1 tablespoon scoop, as opposed to a spoon, and got 60 cookies. I baked some on a dark, non-stick sheet and those only took 10 minutes. I made some on a shiny, "air" cookie sheet and those took 14 minutes to get brown but with either, the taste was GREAT!! I used orange essense cranberries and natural applesause and couldn't be more pleased with the taste and texture. These don't spread much, either, so kind of "patted" the scoop down a bit to get a flatter cookie. Definitely a good recipe for someone watching their fat and fiber!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
These are the yummiest cookies ever! They taste like Mrs. Fields cookies. I didnt add the chocolate cuz' I just wanted raisins but the chewyness of the cookie is great! My husband is picky when it comes to cookies being chewy on the inside! These are by far the best cookies Ive made and eaten in a long time! YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMarcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Absolutely the best oatmeal cookie I have ever made! The cookies are chewy and tasty...mmmm, mmmm good! Definitely leave them in for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Oh my goodness, I made these with an egg substitute (my daughter is allergic to egg whites) for my huge family, they were gobbled up in a matter of minutes! They were a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This recipe was amazing. Changing the cook-time to about 11 minutes, these cookies came out perfectly chewy in the right places and lasted like that for days without getting mushy or too cakey. I added carmel swirled chocolate chips instead of walnuts or regular chips, and let me just say that between my family and my boyfriend's family, these cookies only lasted about 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great cookies! I made one batch with butterscotch chips instead of chocolate and craisins instead of raisins, and also a regular batch. They were both good. Baked for 13 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kittengirl
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
It's the best oatmeal recipe I've tried. I cooked it for 12 mins. And it came out perfectly. The first batch was in the oven for exactly 10; and it easily crumbled. The 12 mins is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States