Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, and so did my mom AND her daycare kids! So it's a good recipe for all ages... I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, and I think that without it, the cookies wouldn't have been quite so good. They're awesome fresh out of the oven, but even better the next day! I baked some for 8 minutes, and they came out looking too raw, so the next batch i did for 10, which seemed too long, but both ended up tasting delicious! I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I've been looking for a really dense, chewy oatmeal cookie recipe and haven't quite found one yet, however this one is still pretty good. I think I may have overcooked the first batch by a couple of minutes-they were not burnt by any means but came out very light and fluffy rather than chewy. The second batch I made sure to watch the cooking time..I'd say 8 min max, and I had a bit of a denser cookie which I liked. The taste is great and I did enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Very good!! I used 1/2 c White Whole Wheat Flour and 1 cup All purpose and it was still very good! The Walnuts make it great!! I did one batch without nuts for my kids and they were not as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I made them with over a cup of raisins in place of the chocolate chips and walnuts. Very good. YOU MUST let them cool for 5 before you move them. I made these for a BBQ for my husband's work and I used a mini muffin tin to freeze a dozen uncooked and took them as a hostess gift. Also, I added some Saigon Cinnamon. They were excellent! Better than the mix you buy. FYI! It seems like a lot of salt, but it is needed. I skimped and baked a test cookie only to add more to the mix later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Absolutely delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe, I used Macadamia nuts instead of walnuts but other than that I used the recipe to a T. Really soft and chewy-will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I gave these 4 stars because I think they have a great flavor and would probably have a better texture had I followed the recipe to the letter. I was wanting to make a healthy cookie, so I made the following changes: 1c. whole wheat flour & 1/2c. all-purpose. For sweetness I used 1/3c. brown sugar, 1/3c.sucanat & 1/3c. honey. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon, increased raisins to 1c. and omitted chocolate chips & nuts. The dropped cookies of the 1st batch didn't spread out when baked, so I pushed them down with the back of a spoon for the remaining batches, but that made them too crumbly. The 1st batch actually held together better. I will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I took the advice of other reviewers and baked my first two sheets of cookies longer than stated on the recipe. They were overcooked and not chewy at all. My final sheet of cookies was put in for 8 minutes and turned out perfectly. I would recommend that you put the cookies in and watch for when the edges start turning brown but are still a little shiny on top - that way they set up but are still chewy. I added 1/2 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp ground cinnamon, omitting the chocolate chips, because I like my oatmeal cookies with some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really moist and yummy~ The kids were eating them faster then I could cook them~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These cookies were amazing. My family and daycare kids loved them. I had to cook them for 15 minutes instead of 10 minutes but other wise perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States