Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My husband loves this recipe.He brought them to work and now the guys are all bugging him for more cookies.They turned out more like cake than chewy.I don't like raisins so I put cranberries and pumpkin seeds in mine......yummie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by texsara
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I just made these cookies exactly as directed in recipe,& they are fantastic! I have never made cookies from scratch this perfect. They are delicious with a cold glass of light soy milk (Silk).I don't usually care for raisins but they are healthy & go perfect in this. I made these in a toaster oven on a dark cookie sheet because my big oven is broken,& they still baked perfect. I did notice the bottoms were browning & tops weren't quite done so I turned the heat down to 300 & cooked for five more minutes..worked great! They are chewy & delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I have been looking for a chewy oatmeal recipe for a while. I can't wait to bake some for my granddaughters when they come to visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texsara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Pretty darn good! Was just looking for a way to use up some extra applesauce and because it was already 7:30 pm I was looking for something that I could make QUICKLY for my family for a late night snack. These totally fit the bill. I was out of raisins and nuts so had to leave those out; made half of the batch plain and the other half with the full 1/2 c of chocolate chips - super chewy and yummy either way. I made sure to bake these for 8 minutes - then checked back every 30 seconds beyond that till I felt they were ready to pull out (that's how I bake all my cookies b/c we live in CO where things dry out QUICKLY). TY for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
divine!! i left out the raisins and nuts due to an allergy. next time i may use a little less sugar. They are soft, chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I was looking for an oatmeal cookie so I omitted the last 3 ingredients...they were so nice and chewy...love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great Cookies!!! My 1 yr old daughter LOVES these cookies. These are great cookies; they stay moist and our really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aishaly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
We used unsweetened apple sauce, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and dried cranberries instead of raisins. They were thick, chewy, and really delicious! Next time, we're trying 1/2 cup of shredded coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These came out thick, hearty, and delicious. Not so much chewy as hearty, like a delicious healthy snack. We used cranberries rather than raisins (for more of a tart-sweet contrast), skipped the walnuts (allergies), and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, which brought out the chocolate flavor more. Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips (as they melt the best, as per Cook's Illustrated, and experience!), and baked them on parchment paper on a pan (instead of buttering the pan). They were thick and delicious! A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Would not consider these to be chewy. They are soft and fluffy and don't have a whole lot of taste Not a bad cookie but def not great will keep searching for a chewy oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
PERFECT! i cant even tell there is applesauce in there! i used a 1-inch scooper and came out with about 60 cookies with is about 69-70 calories per cookie. yum!:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States