Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jill Henderson
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My favorite oatmeal cookie recipe!! I had been looking for a good recipe for plump, chewy cookies and after reading reviews I decided to try it. My cookies turned out so thick and yummy and my dad (whose very picky) loved them. I did add about a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and omitted the nuts and raisins then upped the choc chips to 1 cup. Definitely recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksg
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My first attempt at making cookies and I was very pleased ! The only reason why I'm rating only 4 stars and not the full 5 is that I didn't stick exactly to the recipe, made the following changes: used whole wheat flour, no nuts, doubled the chocolate chips. However, these were not really chewy. They turned out crisp on the outside and soft and cake like on the insides. We loved them. Will definite make these again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I left out the chocolate chips and added coconut and cinnamon instead. The cookies turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have only air bake cookie pans. I decided to try & bake one pan with cooking spray & the other with parchment paper. I'm not sure if the p. paper soaks up moisture or what, but the pan made with the p. paper were absolutely PERFECT! And still chewy & wonderful. The pan sprayed with the cooking spray were pretty horrible....just gooey & not good. AND, I couldn't get the darn cookies off the pan! SO anyway, that may help you. As for taste, WOW! Amazing flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, except used mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTIF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
These are absolutely amazing. They are moist and delicious. I made a half batch raisin and nuts and the other choc chip and nuts. I used a tablespoon to spoon onto baking sheet and bakesd for 10 minutes. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
They were OK -- they taste was good but they did not spread out at all.. I measured carefully and base of recipe the same -- I used 1 cup of chopped nuts instead of nuts chips & raisin.. probably won't make it again -- I am looking for applesauce oatmeal recipe that still tastes like cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Brangaccio Marks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My daughter made these cookies today and the whole family went crazy over them! She only added chocolate chips and no raisins or almonds, but they would have been fabulous with them. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I love these cookies. The chocolate chips were left out as I prefer just raisins and walnuts and these were increased to 3/4 cups of each. I used cinnamon applesauce from one of the idividual little cups. I especially like that you can bake them for about 12 minutes for a chewier cookie and a little more if you prefer your cookies more crisp and they still taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
These are AMAZING! Perfect texture, just the right amount of soft and chewy! I've tried a variety of "filling" mixes (just chocolate, chocolate + raisins + nuts, etc.), and honestly, just using raisins probably tastes the very best! I only made two changes. The first is based on personal taste: I like to add allspice and cinnamon to my cookies. The second is the cooktime: the listed time of 8-10 minutes only works if you make very small cookies. If you're like me and you use about 2 heaping tablespoons of batter per cookie, you'll want to bake them for about 12 minutes. Delicious beyond belief!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Really good cookies and very easy to make. I made them without the raisins and nuts. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States