Chewy No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This has a good flavor, but it does not make "bars," it makes loose granola. It's WAY too dry to stick together to make bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I love it!! Per reviews, I added just a little but more honey so they will stick better and it was perfect! Instead of almonds, I used pecans. Way better than store bought granola bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Delicious and incredibly versatile. I altered the add-ins based on what I had and what we like, but I give it 5 stars because this is now my go-to recipe and a great base for your own preferences. My husband likes those Fiber One chewy chocolate bars and I'm very excited for him to try these. I used 1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats, 1 1/2 cups crispy rice cereal, left out dried fruit and almonds and substituted about 1/2 cup chopped dry roast peanuts and 1/2 cup candied walnut pieces (using the Candied Almonds recipe from this site). Amazing. I'm reveling in the (albeit comparatively small) amount of money we'll save on Fiber One bars over the course of a year, in favor of a product that is SO GOOD. I'm even planning on serving these at a get-together tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I make these often. I have found that mixing the 2 oats and the nuts together and toasting them for 10-15 minutes in a 350*F oven gives them a nice toasty taste. I also sometimes substitute 1/2 cup maple syrup for the brown sugar quite often. The syrup seems to help them stay together rather than crumble. and use dried cranberries and white chips. These are a family favorite. It's a great recipe that really lends itself to lots or variations! Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Easy to make, but will NOT stick together! I had to cook them to make them stick. Nothing like sending the kids to school with a mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe several times this summer and my family likes them better than store bought granola bars. I freeze my chocolate chips when I start measuring my ingredients and stir them in at the end. I store them in the fridge as they do fall apart when at room temperature. We use metal cookie cutters to make the bars into different shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
These are good but definitely not a healthier version of the store bought we want to imitate with all the added sugar. You may as well buy the prepackaged ones. I don't use the sugars listed or the butter. Instead, I use about half a cup of brown rice syrup and 1/3 - 1/2 cup natural peanut butter to hold them together. Yes it provides a small amount of sugar and the peanut butter gives it flavor and helps them bond into a more stable bar. I also don't put dried fruit in but I have at times. I add a combination of coconut, almonds, pecans walnuts and pumpkin seeds as well as a tablespoon or two of ground flax for omega 3's and fiber. Cinnamon also makes a nice addition to the flavor with the nuts. After placing them in the baking dish and before placing them in the refrigerator to set up, I melt half a bag of dark chocolate morsels on top in the oven for 2 - 3 minutes for sweetness. When I take the bars out I then spread the melted chips in a thin layer of chocolate over the entire batch. It helps hold them together and provides a nice touch for the sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This tasted good and, after refrigerated, had a nice texture. I'm not sure the steel cut oats were necessary, more rolled oats might have been nicer. (The steel cut oats are pricey and didn't really soften.) I was surprised at how thin the bars were, I would probably make them in a 9 in square pan next time. I made the mistake of adding chocolate chips with the oats, and when the butter mixture was poured over, they all melted and we got chocolate granola bars -- they taste delicious, but we were trying to make "chocolate chip-craisin" bars. I made them for a lunch box treat, and I'm somewhat concerned about how they'll fare (texture-wise) at room temperature. I would probably make them again, but I'll still be looking around for something closer to what I imagined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I made these following the recipe and they are really good! I had never seen steel cut oats used uncooked, but they add a nice texture and flavor. The bars need to be refigerated or else they're messy. I didn't give the recipe a 5star cause I think they are a little soft. My 3 boys love them!! Great for the lunchbox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val's Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I use this as my go to granola bar recipe all the time. My roommate begs me to make them, the only thing I do different is make them into bites. I use the silicone bake ware and spoon in the granola, I hate cutting them and this eliminates that step, two bites equals one original serving. I am trying to figure out how to pack them with protein though! Lovely and simple recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States