Chewy No Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this exactly as the recipe states and I didn't care for the flavor. The bars also didn't stick together nicely. For me, this recipe needs a lot of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I added almond extract because I was out of vanilla and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
It wouldn't stay together in bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe! Been searching for a good chewy granola bar recipe and found it. I wanted to make this as healthy as I could with what ingredients I had on hand. I used rolled oats entirely (was out of cut steel ones) raw local honey, grassfed butter (will experiment with ghee next batch) and rapadura mixed with a little blackstrap molasses in place of brown sugar. Crushed almonds, pecans and raisins were added (no other dried fruits on hand) and I didn't have crispy rice cereal either lol so I left it out and this recipe was still so so good and tasty. As an extra experiment I reserved a little of the mixture in a small bowl and poured in a little sprouted almond milk over it and gave it a taste...oh yes, great as a cold cereal too. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I love it!! Per reviews, I added just a little but more honey so they will stick better and it was perfect! Instead of almonds, I used pecans. Way better than store bought granola bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Delicious and incredibly versatile. I altered the add-ins based on what I had and what we like, but I give it 5 stars because this is now my go-to recipe and a great base for your own preferences. My husband likes those Fiber One chewy chocolate bars and I'm very excited for him to try these. I used 1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats, 1 1/2 cups crispy rice cereal, left out dried fruit and almonds and substituted about 1/2 cup chopped dry roast peanuts and 1/2 cup candied walnut pieces (using the Candied Almonds recipe from this site). Amazing. I'm reveling in the (albeit comparatively small) amount of money we'll save on Fiber One bars over the course of a year, in favor of a product that is SO GOOD. I'm even planning on serving these at a get-together tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I make these often. I have found that mixing the 2 oats and the nuts together and toasting them for 10-15 minutes in a 350*F oven gives them a nice toasty taste. I also sometimes substitute 1/2 cup maple syrup for the brown sugar quite often. The syrup seems to help them stay together rather than crumble. and use dried cranberries and white chips. These are a family favorite. It's a great recipe that really lends itself to lots or variations! Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Easy to make, but will NOT stick together! I had to cook them to make them stick. Nothing like sending the kids to school with a mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe several times this summer and my family likes them better than store bought granola bars. I freeze my chocolate chips when I start measuring my ingredients and stir them in at the end. I store them in the fridge as they do fall apart when at room temperature. We use metal cookie cutters to make the bars into different shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
These are good but definitely not a healthier version of the store bought we want to imitate with all the added sugar. You may as well buy the prepackaged ones. I don't use the sugars listed or the butter. Instead, I use about half a cup of brown rice syrup and 1/3 - 1/2 cup natural peanut butter to hold them together. Yes it provides a small amount of sugar and the peanut butter gives it flavor and helps them bond into a more stable bar. I also don't put dried fruit in but I have at times. I add a combination of coconut, almonds, pecans walnuts and pumpkin seeds as well as a tablespoon or two of ground flax for omega 3's and fiber. Cinnamon also makes a nice addition to the flavor with the nuts. After placing them in the baking dish and before placing them in the refrigerator to set up, I melt half a bag of dark chocolate morsels on top in the oven for 2 - 3 minutes for sweetness. When I take the bars out I then spread the melted chips in a thin layer of chocolate over the entire batch. It helps hold them together and provides a nice touch for the sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States