Chewy Maple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I followed the recommendations of naples34102 posted Nov. 16, 2007 and these turned out PERFECTLY! They were AWESOME!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
These were very tasty. I added about another 2 tablespoons of maple syrup and they turned out great. VERY sweet...so be prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
After reading about some of the problems with this recipe, I was able to make some small changes to correct the problems. The result was a knock-your-socks off maple cookie! To take care of the "cookies being flat" I added another 1/4 cup of flour. I like the taste of butter in my cookies, so I used half shortening and half butter for the fat. Others remarked the cookies were "not maple-y enough." When baking, always use Grade B (not the standard A grade) pure maple syrup to ensure a pronounced maple flavor. And just for added measure I replaced 1/4 tsp. of the vanilla with maple extract. As for "just tasting the coconut," I eliminated it and substituted chopped walnuts. Maple and walnut are a classic combination of flavors anyway. To further take care of the cookies being flat problem, I chilled the dough for a couple of hours, and did NOT grease the cookie sheets (which can cause some cookies to spread), opting instead to bake the cookies on parchment paper. I dropped the dough in mounds a little bigger than a walnut and baked about 10 minutes, but you may have to adjust the time to allow for variations such as the size of your cookies, your oven temperature, and even the type of cookie sheet you use. Bake just as long as necessary for them to turn golden brown around the edges. The cookies with my corrections were perfectly shaped, not flat, buttery, chewy, and very "maple-y."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I didn't have "real" maple syrup, so I used light pancake syrup---which could have been my problem. The cookies turned out okay, looked good too. Just didn't hit the spot for me. I did bake at 350 for 8-10 mins, as suggested. I didn't add any flour and they were fine. I might try this one again when I buy "real" maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These were delicious cookies! My fell flat too like some other reviews said, but still tasted great. You don't taste the coconut much, just gives it a good texture. Next time will try adding nuts, butterscotch chips, maybe even drizzle some maple icing on top. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I think this recipe needs a little work. Although I didn't add coconut, the batter seems too be heavy on the liquids. The cookies spread out very thin and at 375 degrees, they burn. I tried chilling the dough over night, but I still had to lower the temp to save them (unlike my second batch)! The flavor is good and it's nice to be able to make cookies when you are out of butter, though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I thought these were okay. My kids liked them a lot. I would NOT call these "maple" cookies so much as coconut cookies. Had I been expecting coconut cookies I may have liked them better, but I think it's a waste of maple syrup (given how expensive it is) to use it as an ingredient if you aren't going to be able to taste any maple. I don't think I'll make these again unless I'm craving coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Very good cookies indeed. I thought they were just ok, but my wife and kids loved them so what could I do except make more? Even those that don't care for coconut liked the taste. The cookies spread out quite a bit so make them small or give them lots of space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Unbelievably good!My family told me they would chain me by the stove so I could make more and more and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I have 4 members of my family in my "Cookie of the Month Club", and I made these for March. I replaced the coconut with chopped walnuts and everyone went crazy for them. They're a new favourite and I'll be making them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States