Chewy Maple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
After reading about some of the problems with this recipe, I was able to make some small changes to correct the problems. The result was a knock-your-socks off maple cookie! To take care of the "cookies being flat" I added another 1/4 cup of flour. I like the taste of butter in my cookies, so I used half shortening and half butter for the fat. Others remarked the cookies were "not maple-y enough." When baking, always use Grade B (not the standard A grade) pure maple syrup to ensure a pronounced maple flavor. And just for added measure I replaced 1/4 tsp. of the vanilla with maple extract. As for "just tasting the coconut," I eliminated it and substituted chopped walnuts. Maple and walnut are a classic combination of flavors anyway. To further take care of the cookies being flat problem, I chilled the dough for a couple of hours, and did NOT grease the cookie sheets (which can cause some cookies to spread), opting instead to bake the cookies on parchment paper. I dropped the dough in mounds a little bigger than a walnut and baked about 10 minutes, but you may have to adjust the time to allow for variations such as the size of your cookies, your oven temperature, and even the type of cookie sheet you use. Bake just as long as necessary for them to turn golden brown around the edges. The cookies with my corrections were perfectly shaped, not flat, buttery, chewy, and very "maple-y."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I followed the recommendations of naples34102 posted Nov. 16, 2007 and these turned out PERFECTLY! They were AWESOME!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
These turned out ok, but far too sweet for my taste. If I make them again, I will omit 1/2 a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I thought that this cookie was extremely sweet. I liked the flavour though. I had no coconut so I crushed some walnuts. This worked quite well. After a few pans of the flat cookies, I added flour until the dough left the side of the bowl and rolled the cookies into balls. I found that they had a better taste and came off the pan much easier after adding more flour. This recipe is quite good with a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2000
Quite yummy and soft. I'd recommend using tablespoon size drop (teaspoon drops make bite size cookies). Don't worry if you dont like coconut - it blends in nicely with the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I followed other suggestions and substituted maple extract for vanilla, and extra flour, then put in fridge. You must quickly go from fridge to cool cookie sheet for the cookie to hold the drop shape; I did all the cookies on sheets at once, and the subsequent cookies fell flat 5 minutes out of the oven. But - the flavor is amazing, the middle stayed chewy - my taste testers all said it was like hot pecan pancakes with syrup. This goes on the keeper list..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I omitted the coconut (personal preference) and these were SUPERB! I love maple flavored things, and these really hit the spot! Thank you for such a great cookie recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Navkiran
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Substituted margarine for shortening, added a little bit of extra maple syrup and didn't have any coconut. They turned out AMAZING. Incredibly delicious and chewy. I used 1 cup powdered/icing sugar + 2 tablespoons of maple syrup and 1 tablespoon of margarine and milk to make the maple frosting. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
The cookies are tasty, but they weren't very maple-y - all I can taste is the coconut - so I was a little disappointed. I might try them again with a bit less coconut and a bit more maple and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Me and my cousin made them, they were DELICIOUS!!! My couzin does not like maple syrup but she loved the cookies. You should try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States