Chewy Jumbo Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe for five years for the officials and press members at a local district wrestling tournament. Every year, the people can't wait for me to make the cookies again. If I had a nickel for everyone who asked me about this recipe, I would be rich! They are a complete hit! Note: They are best when eaten within a day or two of baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made 4 different recipes for Chocolate chip cookies Including the Toll House recipe. This recipe won the vote. Thank you Barbara for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I do believe these are the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever had! My grocery was out of cake flour so I just used regular unbleached, then I substituted coconut oil for 1/2 cup of the butter. Mine were jumbo, about 2 1/2 TBLS of dough per cookie. Perefct!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I can't keep these around long. The kids in the neighborhood visit me daily asking for these cookies. Amazing taste and beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiCoAmazing

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
6/13 K 14 & Joni 15 made these & they were very good, not soft & chewy as the reviewer states; but may just be a time issue. These were crisp, but not hard. 'Usually prefer softer, chewy ones; but these are good, Crisp like bakery - a real bakery - crisp. Yum. Later: It is a time issue - if you prefer soft & chewy. Less time or a lower oven. I baked mine, after refrigerating dough, at 350 for 10 - 12. You need to let them sit on the sheet as it says. They're very soft until they cool. Oh, the girls used regular flour & the same amount & it was fine. 'Coulda used less minichips, maybe 1 1/2c instead of 2 - probably just for mini ones. 7/13 Good/bad news: Soft, yummy; but kind gets to be like cookiedoughish. Not meaning it doughsup, but had enough before they were gone. 'Good once in a while, but I think I like my regular one better. 5/14 'Still a good review. These are more rich than most. They have more fat = the rich texture = buttery feel. They're more bakery-looking, no browned edges when they're done. Good taste & appearance, but re-enforced my opinion that my other recipe is better - to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very Good! I followed the recipe as written and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I baked some an hour ago. They spread out and looked like they melted. It looked like a chocolate chip pie. So i cut them into squares and tried some. Even though they spread out the taste was amazing!!! So chewy and deliciouse. This is the best chocolate chip recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lia99rutr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I give this recipe 4 stars! I followed your directions except I didn't have enough butter so I used 1 cup of shortening and 1/2 cup of softned butter and they still turned out great! The only reason I put 4 stars is because my cookies were baked to perfection at 375 degrees for only 10 minutes instead of 10-14 minutes! Thanks for sharing your recipe! Its a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are the best ch.chip cookies I have made. did take the suggestion of one reviewer and put 1/3c. less all purpose flour and one large egg extra. These cookies are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the only chip cookie recipe that I will be using from now on. They were SOOO good. I made the cake flour by removing 2 TBSP of the flour in that one cup and replacing it with cornstarch, then sifting several times. When I used milk chocolate chips, I reduced the sugars to 1 cup each, but the semi-sweet got 1 1/4 cups each. I used 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter and peanut butter chips instead of chocolate chips in one batch and in a different batch, I used butterscotch chips and 1 tsp cinnamon. I could do no wrong with these cookies. I gave out cookie plates to all my neighbors and they raved over them. The ones I made for my family were gone long before they had a chance to go stale. One neighbor's comment: "These are DUNKIN' COOKIES!" Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Taylor-Giegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States