Chewy Jumbo Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Definitely the very best chocolate chip cookie around--one that I've been making for many years. I've made these so often (because they're that good), with all kinds of variations for the chocolate chips, that I don't even need to refer to the recipe anymore. The reason these are called "Jumbo," however, is because they are supposed to be dropped by 1/4 cupfuls, which produces a beautiful cookie with an entirely different and better texture. Also, use 1/4 cup less all-purpose flour and add 1/2 tsp. salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2001
these cookies are huge hard puffs of flavorless cake. if you dare to try this terrible recipe, try it using less baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is the absolute best recipe for Chocolate Chip cookies I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out soft, chewy, and delicious. I might add a little more vanilla next time, but that's not a complaint! I'll only ever make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
this recipes is great!! I bake them until they are still just a little bit doughy in the middle and then when you eat them the next day they are the chewiest cookie in the whole world!! I love them!! So does my family, I will definatly make these again and again, I am making these for my 4-H club meeting tonight and I hope they will turn out really good and chewy!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekka C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
i thought that they were the best chocolate chip cookies that i have ever tasted. my kids loved them and kept coming back for more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Great recipe! I was looking for a cookie recipe to use the new Kissables candy in and this worked great. Only used 1 cup each sugar because I knew the candies were so sweet. Tried it again later on that week using 1 cup Skor pieces, 1 cup pecans which was also magnificent. Delightfully chewy inside. I also used a little less flour on each batch as the dough was getting a little thick. This will be my cookie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This is the best cookie ever! I tried replacing the chocolate chips for 2 milk chocolate bars ans 2 white chocolate bars, well chopped, and oh my God! people just can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the only chip cookie recipe that I will be using from now on. They were SOOO good. I made the cake flour by removing 2 TBSP of the flour in that one cup and replacing it with cornstarch, then sifting several times. When I used milk chocolate chips, I reduced the sugars to 1 cup each, but the semi-sweet got 1 1/4 cups each. I used 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter and peanut butter chips instead of chocolate chips in one batch and in a different batch, I used butterscotch chips and 1 tsp cinnamon. I could do no wrong with these cookies. I gave out cookie plates to all my neighbors and they raved over them. The ones I made for my family were gone long before they had a chance to go stale. One neighbor's comment: "These are DUNKIN' COOKIES!" Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Taylor-Giegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
These cookies were terrific! My family ate them all in less than 2 days! I added more chips - which I always do. Chewy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is now my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. I also used Heath Bar pieces and everyone raved. I thought the cake flour might make them cakey, but they were just the opposite - soft and chewy, exactly the way I like them. Just be sure not to overbake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States