Chewy Jumbo Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as written and these were very good the first day. On the second day they were dry and hard even though I stored in an air tight container. A piece of bread added to the container helped, but was still not satisfied with the way they stored. Probably will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
good recipe for soft cookies thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Bunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These are GREAT! Very simple to make & came out delicious. I used Valentine colored M&Ms & took them to work – they were gone in no time. These would be great with a variety of different flavor chocolate chips, planning to use peanut-butter & dark chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe. I did not have cake flour, so i substituted with regular white flour, and the cookies turned out great. They are heavy, chewy, and moist. I removed them from the oven while they are still slightly doughey and when they cool, they are chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I sub-ed shortening for all the butter. As well as doubled the recipe. The mix came out good, but too thick, maybe if I had used a cup less flour, or so? The cookies are moist on the inside, and crispy (sure to the shortening)on the outside, Had to increase baking time to about 12 minutes. Next time, I'll try the exact recipe and see if I like them better. (I didn't have any butter to use) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Hmm, mine did not turn out chewy at all. They were pretty cakey and not that sweet, either. I halved the recipe since I only had about a cup of chips but that shouldn't have changed anything. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ||__stefanel__||>

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Perfect recipe for a beginner. Came out great the first time I made them. I agree that it needs that extra vanilla extract. And the reviews about taking it out and not overbaking were so helpful it kept it chewy. Thanks for the recipe it helped to build my confidents and can't wait to experiment and try other recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Although I'd rate this recipe with a "5" for flavor, I had to give them a "3" for chewiness. They WERE chewy in the center.....if only you could bite through the very hard outside of the cookie. My jaw still hurts! If I were to make these again ---and I think I'll give 'em another try--- I'd probably take them out of the oven just before the edges got light brown, and/or I might use less flour. An added note: don't snack on the chocolate chips before you add them to the dough; 2 cups is just right. Also, use a large bowl 'cuz there's a lot of dough. I got 48 2" cookies out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My new favorite!! I was looking for a recipe for chewy cookies for my husband and these certainly fit the bill!! So soft and delicious and a hit with my cookie-snob of a husband! These cookies will be my go-to cookies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Brady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These are incredible! Follow the receipe, and couldn't be easier. I've been searching for the perfect chocolate chip cookie that suits my taste, and my whole family agrees...the search is over! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateBakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States