Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Love this recipe! Easy quick and you can add any sweetness you want. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I felt this one was healthier than others I had tried. Came out chewy but was less crumbley than other version. I used 3 suggestions others have mentioned; increased butter to 1 cup and honey to almost 1 cup, reduced chocolate to 1 cup. Can't wait to start experimenting with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
They came out greata! I made these with my daycare kids and it was super easy to make. They taste good and they hold their bar shape well. They are a bit softer than quaker granola bars. I substituted 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal for rice krispie cereal and added more honey. I also separated into two batches and made one with Halloween sprinkles and another with almond slivers, m&m candy and Halloween spirnkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These are great! My daughter's chomping one now. I made them exact to recipe except I only had 1 1/2 cups of oats so I broke up 1/2 a cup of pretzels and adde that. Other then a few pieces that crumbled off when I cut them they're perfectly chewy! My daughter said "we gotta make these all the time!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These granola bars are great and aren't just eaten by the kids around here! The only change I make is to change out two cups of oats for two cups of Rice Krispies. I love by-passing the boxes of granola bars at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Always makes amazing and tasty granola bars. I added maple syrup to make them a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was amazing!It was chewy also allowed me to to add a special granola mix. Once again this was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very disappointed with the texture. It was so crumbly that it fell apart. The flavor is good the recipe is flexible (nuts, fruit, etc.) The problem is with the base syrup it seems. Perhaps adding a nut butter like peanut butter or almond butter might help the texture. If it would have held together as a bar I would have given it high marks. Its easy, good tasting, and flexible in add ins, but with its falling to small crumbles I'll be looking for a different recipe. After all I was looking for chewy granola bars not chewy granola crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luisa Love
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I loved this recipe with modifications. The original recipe was dry and too crumbly. Modifications: Used Whole Wheat Flour, 2 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 cup of butter, 3/4 cup honey, 1/4 brown sugar(lightly packed), added one cup of wheat germ and used 2 cups of dark chocolate regular sized chips. I'm actually going to post a recipe up for this modification. Happy Baking Everyone!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Excellent! Made according to recipe, only change was margarine instead of butter. I used a combo of white/butterscotch/dark chocolate chips. Traded 1/2 of oats for rice krispies for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Code-Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States