Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Awesome. Sweet but not too sweet. Holds together well, and not sticky. My wife and I are planning on making these every week instead of buying bars at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. First, I used 5 cups of old fashioned oats, since it was what I had on hand. I used about a stick of butter, melted and a mashed, ripe banana to make up for the rest. I kept the rest of the measurements the same but did not use chocolate chips. Instead I added some shredded coconut and cinnamon.I think it's really important to separate your wet and dry ingredients and melt the butter to make sure your bars don't come out crumbly. I do think the final product did come out a bit drier than I expected but next time, I'll be sure to adjust. I might add a bit more sugar or honey as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harika14

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I love this recipe! I actually omitted the choco chips and just added choco powder and peanut butter and cooked it longer. Put it in a cookie pan and it turned out better than those crunchy granola bars that you get from the store!!! Yum!!! Thank you for sharing, we are never buying store bought granola bars again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These are amazing... I made them for my family and my little bro who is 2 would NOT stop snitching!!! I substituted melted butter for the butter though... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
They are very good. They will not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Fidler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
So this sounded like an awesome start for making something usable out of all those cereal boxes that were sitting in my cupboard. I took all the kashi, granola, cornflakes, steel-cut oatmeal, etc that had been opened but not eaten in the last 3 months and dumped it into a VERY big stainless steel bowl. 20 cups worth! So I somewhat randomly quadrupled/pentupled(?) the recipe for the liquids. I added in molasses, corn syrup (trying to empty my cupboards!), lots of brown sugar, NO flour - I figured there would be plenty from the cereal, some egg whites that I needed to use up (and would help bind the recipe). Blended it all up, then split it up into 3 batches. Added peanut butter to one batch (YUM!), chocolate chips to the next (YUMM!) and craisins to the other! Its all cooking right now, but it smells delicious. I expect some falling apart, but hey it's homemade. Going to let it cool, cut into bars and serve it up! ... Came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamcomingundone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very tasty and customizable! I patted it down really hard before and after baking it and it held together great! Next time, I may try it without the brown sugar to be healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great base recipe! Chewy and not dry. Kids loved them with choc chips! Great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I won't rate something unless I follow the original recipe first. Then if need be I will tweek it until I like it. The first time I made these I knew they'd be too dry. There isn't enough moisture in the ingredients to hold it all together. It was tasty though. We ended up eating it with a spoon over yogurt. The second time I made it I used 4 cups quick oats, 1 cup flour, an entire cup of melted butter and 10 ounces of honey. Finding that it was still a bit dry I used 1/2 c of water. I used the same amount of vanilla, brown sugar and baking soda. Then I used 4 ounces of pecans that I processed in the food processor along with about 4 ounces cinnamon and 1 1/2 Cup of raisins. Baked at 18 minutes, took them out, cut them and left them in the pan to cool. I felt I had to chagne this recipe too much from it's original form to give it any more than 2 stars. Sorry, I just hate rating something so low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Oh my, gooey, chewy granola love! Based on other comments, I made the following changes: substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat in all purpose flour, increased to 1 cup of butter, and added 1/2 cup of molasses to the 1/2 cup honey. Then I divided the batter in two: 1 for chocolate chips (I used 3/4th cup) for the kids, and 1 for fruits and nuts (cranberries, walnuts) for me. It came out darker than the pictures because of the molasses, but oh, so rich & delicious. Also, gooey in the first half hour, but chewy later. I'm looking forward to trying this with dates and cashews and other combos. Loved the simplicity of the recipe -- thank you and bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States