Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very tasty and customizable! I patted it down really hard before and after baking it and it held together great! Next time, I may try it without the brown sugar to be healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great base recipe! Chewy and not dry. Kids loved them with choc chips! Great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I won't rate something unless I follow the original recipe first. Then if need be I will tweek it until I like it. The first time I made these I knew they'd be too dry. There isn't enough moisture in the ingredients to hold it all together. It was tasty though. We ended up eating it with a spoon over yogurt. The second time I made it I used 4 cups quick oats, 1 cup flour, an entire cup of melted butter and 10 ounces of honey. Finding that it was still a bit dry I used 1/2 c of water. I used the same amount of vanilla, brown sugar and baking soda. Then I used 4 ounces of pecans that I processed in the food processor along with about 4 ounces cinnamon and 1 1/2 Cup of raisins. Baked at 18 minutes, took them out, cut them and left them in the pan to cool. I felt I had to chagne this recipe too much from it's original form to give it any more than 2 stars. Sorry, I just hate rating something so low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Oh my, gooey, chewy granola love! Based on other comments, I made the following changes: substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat in all purpose flour, increased to 1 cup of butter, and added 1/2 cup of molasses to the 1/2 cup honey. Then I divided the batter in two: 1 for chocolate chips (I used 3/4th cup) for the kids, and 1 for fruits and nuts (cranberries, walnuts) for me. It came out darker than the pictures because of the molasses, but oh, so rich & delicious. Also, gooey in the first half hour, but chewy later. I'm looking forward to trying this with dates and cashews and other combos. Loved the simplicity of the recipe -- thank you and bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
a little hard to keep in bar-shapes but they are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were really good. I didnt have honey so I looked online for substitutes and ended up using water and sugar mixture. I pressed them hard into the pan with a large plastic spatula then when they were fresh out of the oven, I pressed them done firmly again. They were not crumbly at all and they were perfect for school lunches. I will add less sugar next time as they tasted more like an oatmeal cookie than a granola bar. The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Too sweet and don't stick together well. I wouldn't put any brown sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Super easy and good. Definitely need to press into pan hard and doesn't need that much of the chocolate chips. But i love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
lOVE THIS RECIPE. I used the substitutions as suggested (1 cup of honey, Melted butter). I also used half cup white and half cup wheat flour. Came out a little dry so I may decrease the oats the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States