Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I loved these! They may have sugar, but homemade granola bars are much healthier than store bought ones with preservatives. The only modifications that I made were that I added whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, I added one stick of butter and three tablespoons of margarine because I didn't have enough butter, and I reduced the chocolate chips to one cup. Next time I will press as firmly as possible since these ones came out crumbly. Other reviewers also suggested increasing the butter and honey to one cup each. It sounds great to add other "toppings" like coconut, raisins, and chopped pecans, walnuts, or almonds. It may also be good to add some flaxseed, wheat germ, or protein powder for extra nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Loved the recipe: a nice alternative to cookies. Used maple syrup ins. of honey and left out the br. sugar. Have tried various combinations of dried fruits/nuts/chocolate and they are always a hit. Enjoyed the video version - helps a lot in getting it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Delish! And so easy to make! I melted the butter for 2 reasons...1)I read another reviewer did the same and 2) I didn't want to wait for my refrigerated butter to soften :/. I'm still waiting for them to cool completely but couldn't resist trying a piece now...yum yum yum. You can really taste the honey. Hubby loves them so 5 stars from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jltaylor
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Yum! These granola bars are so much better than the Quaker Oats granola bars plus a lot healthier. They are soft and chewy, though they aren't the same consistency as the store bought kind. That's okay though because these are so much better. I had my son, niece, and husband all give them a big thumbs up. I made mine with some chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, and walnuts that I had leftover from some other baking I had done earlier. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jltaylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I make this weekly for my teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I love this recipe! Like others I adjusted some of the ingredients. I added a bit more butter and honey, a little less flour. I substituted about half the old fashioed oats for quick oats and added some ground flax seed(we like the nutty flavor). For add ins I chopped some almonds, added some cherry flavored craisins and coconut with about half of the chips. I added some almond extract with the vanilla. The flavors together are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
very tasty, but I added coconut shreds, sunflower seeds and other dried fruit. It's fun to make and takes no time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
These granola bars are pretty good as written, just a bit too sweet. I made them a second time, substituting 1 cup of crispy rice cereal for 1 cup of oats, cutting the amount of chocolate chips in half, from 2 cups to just 1, and decreasing the brown sugar to 2 T. This was the perfect recipe for our family, a wonderful balance of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyLovely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I had the same problem as several others. These bars totally fell apart, even after cooling completely. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I've made these plenty of times always doubling the recipe for my large family. I always find I need to increase the butter to 1/2 cup. Add some more honey, and I also add almonds, flax seed, craisins, coconut and sometimes white chocolate. I find that dates make them chewy as well and add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States