Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I printed this recipe about a year ago, and make it every other month or so. It has been a huge hit with family and friends and as a result have given this recipe to almost everyone I know! I only use 4 cups of rolled oats and often use regular cooking oats instead of rolled oats because they are cheaper. I also add just about anything to them in varying combinations: peanut butter, raisins, dried blueberries and cranberries, craisins, marshmallows, apples diced into tiny pieces, dried fruit. I mix the wet ingredients together and then add them to the dry, and add the extras which seems to cause them to be less crumbly. I've also started to keep them in the fridge-which seems to help them from crumbling as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I loved these granola bars. I used the suggestion to melt the butter. I did add extra honey and about 2 tablespoons more of butter. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon. These bars are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These are great! I have all used this recipe as a guide line to make homemade granola. Follow this exactly except take away the chocolate chips. Instead of packing it into the pan crumble it around the pan. Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon. Cook for about 20 minutes on 325 degrees or till golden brown. Must let cool to make them crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe, they came out very dry and crumbly. The family did not approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M'Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
The taste was great, but I found they were very dry. I would agree with the others about upping the liquid content, but instead of honey perhaps corn syrup would also be a good alternative. I also found them quite sweet, so I would likely take out a few of the chocolate chips, particularly if I upped the honey/liquid in it. Making them a little thinner (using a 9x13 and a smaller pan) would probably help a little more as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love these! I will never buy granola bars again! I use 1 stick butter and up the honey to about 3/4 cup. I like to use 1 cup dried berries, 3/4 cup roasted sunflower seeds, and 1/4 cup flax seed. I use a rolling pin to pack the mixture down to ensure the bars are...well...bars! Note: Do not use wheat germ in place of flour - flour is a binding agent and helps to prevent the bars from getting burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were delicious and a hit with my friends/co-workers when I shared them! I also only did a 1/2 c. butter and used some applesauce in place...very good recipe! I will be making this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I tried to make them exact, but I did need more honey about 1 cup, and more butter probably about 3/4c. I also took suggestions and used the 1/2 cup of rice krispies. But I used just rainbow chocolate chips to suggestion. The sugar probably wasn't needed because of so much honey. I loved the taste of them, but my son did not. They're very thick...I even cut them thin making 19 of them. However, i think the only thing healthy about this granola bar is the fact there is no perservitives in them. They're still quite unhealthy. On weight watchers at 19 they worked out to be 8points each...which is a meal in itself. I could have 1/2 of one for 4 points. Thanks for sharing...they did taste pretty darn good!. I much rather have half of one these then the store bought kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and they were very crumbly! Definetely need more butter and honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
These were great, really chewy. I added slivered roasted almonds and dried apricots. i followed the previous review and substituted half the butter with banana baby food. I also used multigrain flour rather than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States