Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Just made these and was very underwhelmed. I did skip the brown sugar based on some of the other reviews and only did a 1/2 c. of choc chips. It was sweet enough, but I also subbed canola oil for the butter b/c we're trying to cut back on saturated fats...I guess it needs the butter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
My family absolutely LOVES these granola bars! I did make some changes though, I omit the brown sugar. The first time I made them I forgot to add it, but after tasting them, I didn't think they needed the extra sugar. I also use 4 cups of oats and a cup of honey. I've made several different varieties, apple cinnamon, banana chocolate chip and cranberry white chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These are perfect! My family has them gone within a week. Although I have made a batch and frozen it with good results. It was a bit drier but not enough that it bothered me or the family...Good Job this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Have the taste and texture of dry cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Excellent basic recipe for granola bars! I have made several versions of this and my family loves them! Big hint: "Press down in pan" is underrated. Use a meat tenderizer to smash it down well both before and after baking. I always add in flax meal and wheat germ (to make it a little healthier). Last night, I added some rice krispies, and dried cranberries and mango. We've also had peanut butter and choc chip, and going to try pineapple coconut next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very good. My one-year old LOVED these. I wish they stuck together a little better, though. I only used 1 cup of chocolate chips, and that was a perfect amount for us. I ran out of oats and used some rice krispies to make up the difference. Next time I'll also add a litle coconut. Very flexible recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These are super easy to make! I make them to take to work for my breakfast. Much better than boxed and cheaper. I melted the butter as another suggested and had no problems with them falling apart. I used one cup of chocolate chips and baked for 18 minutes. Great recipe! UPDATE: To make these healthier I now use whole wheat flour, one stick of butter, 1/2 cup of applesauce, less brown sugar and 1/2 cup of choc chips. Still great with these changes and makes me feel better about eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Fantastic! These are so tasty, easy to make and do not fall apart as some have suggested. I also love the fact that the base recipe is so versatile, and because of this I did make a few changes. I halved the recipe and used a great deal less butter, only about a table spoon. I used a bit more honey and compensated the butter by adding applesauce, which turned out wonderfully. I also added a bit of cinnamon and chocolate chips. Great recipe, and I can't wait to try more variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Really good. I had to add extra honey to get it all to mix in together but overall really good. I was worried when they were baking how they would turn out but they ended up turning out well! They stick together and to not break apart at all! Really tasty and a good alternative to store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
These granola bars are AMAZING!!! Please don't waste your money on the store brands and make these instead. You can throw in whatever you have at home and it is healthier for you too! I made these without the chocolate chips and brown sugar as I wanted a healthier version. What I've done: -grind a total of two cups all bran flakes with Quaker oats -grind together raisins, cranberries, unsalted sunflower seed, unsweetened coconut, almonds -add to 1 cup organic whole-wheat flour, baking soda,vanilla, 1 cup butter and 1 cup honey. Enjoy!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States